We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about the southwest part” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe

Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
328 South Main Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2141
734 930 0047
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 525 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: William
Transit: There is a bus stop at Fourth and William Streets.
Florence
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not sure about the southwest part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I did find an item on the menu that was southwest… but they have so many other items that aren't. The cafe is very small and you feel like you are sitting on top of one another and not much privacy. I thought it was good but I guess I was wanting "mexican" a little more than what I tasted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wish I could visit this place more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have eaten at here multiple times. Everytime the food has been just outstanding. Fresh, delicious and incomparable. Had the best buffalo meat I can remember and also the best butternut squash soup. This place rocks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasty and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner at the Prickly Pear. I split the pork and plantain enchilada with my husband. It came with rice and beans. It was really good. My husband ordered the mushroom bisque. I tried a little and boy was it good. Best mushroom soup ever in my opinion. I had the slaw which is a nice fresh alternative to traditional salad before dinner. The portions were on the large side but not overly so. A lot of the couples around us were splitting the fajitas. My margarita was very tasty. It is a small restaurant so call ahead. It is loud and not romantic but it was fun. the service was just fine. I was told if there is a college football game in the area, forget about it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh, creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We always eat at this restaurant when in Ann Arbor and it never fails to satisfy. The atmosphere is great. There is indoor and outdoor seating. It's a great place for chips and margaritas, or for a family dinner. When we brought kids, the waiters were helpful and accommodating. The menu is varied and creative yet also has basic tacos and enchiladas as well. The stuffed peppers were wonderful. The salsas and sauces are fresh. The desserts are delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Prickly Pear is one of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor. The food is alwashrimp and ys awesome and somewhat unique. The shrimp and scallop quesadilla is outstanding! My only complaint is the inside is very small and tight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.