We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sick as soon as we left” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe

Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
328 South Main Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2141
734 930 0047
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 510 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: William
Transit: There is a bus stop at Fourth and William Streets.
OHIO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“sick as soon as we left”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

my husband and i just left the restaraunt and we both have been to the bathroom numerous times. the chicken fajta was not hot and the vegtables were not cooked through. oh well sitting outside was nice. will not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Mixed review, Good/Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have heard good things about this place, and it is very cute, staff very friendly, service quick. I went to lunch here with my Dad, I had the scallop/shrimp quesadilla it was very good, my dad had the beef burrito (he loves burrito's), he couldn't finish it he said it just tasted bad. The chips were a little greasy but the salsa (definitely fresh) was the best I have had in quite some time. Would I go back? Maybe, its located on a street with lots of food options so would most likely try something else. Also, the restrooms are located in the basement, not able to accommodate a handicap person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have heard about this place so we went in to celebrate a birthday. On the plus side, the staff is wonderful. Our waitress was very pleasant and seemed to be having fun, doing her job. On the OK side, the food was good but not great. We ordered two of the daily specials, buffalo enchilada and scallops/shrimp quesadilla. Both were good, but could have been better. The shell surrounding the buffalo meat was bland and the texture, along with the chewiness of the meat, distracted one's attention from the flavor. The quesadilla had a bit too much "fishiness", which overwhelmed the rest of the flavors. Maybe we just made the wrong choices that day.
I thought the portions, for the price, were very good. I will try it again, because I think it can be really good, with the right selections.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island, Lk. Superior
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We dine here about twice annually. Saturday night I chose a weekly special -- trout. Blew my mind.
I am not one to eat all on the plate. Oh, yeah! While waiting for the main course I saw the line amassing at the door. Now that says much. I barely sipped my marquieta -- top notch!!-- the salsa knocked out --thick, fresh, and chunky. Holly molly. I could die there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly wait staff, good food, relaxed atmosphere for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went with a friend for lunch. What I liked: the booths are comfortable and the wait staff are friendly; service was really quick; we were immediately served with free warm tortilla chips and salsa (!), we got our lunches pretty quickly, the food was fresh and there was a LOT of it. Food was pretty good.

RE: flavorings - although the salsa was homemade, I thought it was a little bland. It needed more cilantro, and maybe some spices (but cilantro alone would have been sufficient). The prices were kind of high for lunch. Not much was less than $10. For mexican, that's kind of expensive.

However, they do give you a lot of food, so if you are very hungry, this is one good place to go! I definitely recommend it for lunch. Pretty casual atmosphere, but comfortable seating and friendly, efficient wait staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.