We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midwest gourmet, if there is such a thing..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zingerman's Roadhouse

Zingerman's Roadhouse
2501 Jackson Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-3818
734-663-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zingerman's Roadhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 518 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Maple Road
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Midwest gourmet, if there is such a thing..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great bakery and craft beers. Had gone here years ago and didn't think much of it then, but think it was for a football weekend or some other UofM event where even the best places get over worked. So, we gave it another try and really liked it this time. If you're try to watch the carbs this is not the place to be. Started with great artisan bread and great mushroom soup. We had the pulled pork which came with a choice of sides, the mac and cheese was very good as was the fried sweet potato wedges. Great coffee, no room for desert, will be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    160
    86
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estados unidos
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive southern home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

They think they must have invented it and are very proud of it too, as reflected in the pricing. What Zingermans does best is customer service and self promotion, and it seems to be working based on how busy it was. Everyone has enough enthusiasm for an entire wait staff at most other restaurants. They let you sample anything. It was pleasant enough and the food was good enough, but for the money? Oysters $3.50 each?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As good as Zingermans's deli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first time eating here and I was not sure what to expect because I love Zingerman's deli, but was not in the least disappointed. The service was top notch. Our waiter brought us samples of food to try so we had an idea of what we were ordering. They use local meats, fruits and vegetables as much as possible. The BBQ is delicious...you can smell it as you drive into the parking lot. And for the Vegetarians, the menu offers a selection of '5 star tasting' macaroni & cheese dishes. The restaurant is very busy, so make your reservation. Worth your visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Back again......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I never know what I am going to experience when I visit the Roadhouse. I want to love it, I really do. However, service has been spotty, the food not always great and for the price....it is difficult to love.
Taking the plunge again, I took my son to an early breakfast mid-week. He had the daily omelet and a water and I the lox and bagel and a coffee. Both were very good, as was the service (yeah!). Total bill before tip ~$27....*sigh*.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Love the food...expensive but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is always packed so avoid normal hours or get a reservation! Unique menu items. Love the pimiento cheese appetizer...ask for bagel crisps instead of the celery. Everything we have tried has been great. Expanded vegetarian menu. Great barbque for us carnivores. Try the donut bourbon sundae!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zingerman's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Zingerman's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zingerman's Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.