We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lunch to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterrano

Mediterrano
2900 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
734-332-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mediterrano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 519 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eisenhower
Description: Centrally located among the city’s hotels and Briarwood Mall, Mediterrano has been one of Ann Arbor’s premier restaurants for over a decade. Mediterrano is walking distance to an array of hotels including The Four Points by Sheraton, Fairfield Inn, Courtyard by Marriott, and Kensington Court. Using only the freshest and most flavorful ingredients, the innovative kitchen staff expertly prepares tantalizing dishes from each of the 14 countries on the Mediterranean coast. Start off with everyone’s favorite sampler of Hummus, Satziki, and Tapenade before you dive into the fabulous Chicken Jerusalem. Make sure to save room for the traditional home made Baklava and Frutti Di Basco! The attentive and highly trained wait staff serve your every need. Refined, while comfortable, Mediterrano is the perfect venue for business luncheons, family celebrations, friendly get-togethers or a romantic evening for two. 2008 Taste of Ann Arbor Winner, "Best of Show"
McHenry, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Lunch to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The chef knows what he is doing here. It's pricey, but authentic and damn good food. You need to try the lamb.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Excellent Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We wandered in here by accident having seen it as we drove by and being interested in Middle Eastern food. It's more of an Italian/Greek mix but is truly delicious! I think it was the very best Italian meal we've ever had--and we've had plenty! Everything was incredibly fresh and there was plenty of it. My only concern is that there weren't many diners for a prime time Saturday night. I would hate to see it close for lack of customers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, outstanding dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Picked this on a whim, and was delighted with my Branzino fish entree. Never heard of it, but was tasty & well prepared & presented, and right portion size. My Coffee Shop dessert was layered perfection of amaretto cake, mocha, coffee ice cream and dark chocolate. All delivered with excellent service, which didn't hover too closely as we wanted to enjoy time with friends without constant interrruption.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Consistently very good to great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is one of my consistently favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor. The menu is Mediterrean based (Italian, Greek) and there are always good choices. The tapenade is excellent.
The service is also consistently good for either lunch or dinner. It can be a little slow for lunch but what the heck.
The inside seating is better than typical, it doesn't feel crowded or loud like many reaturants can. The outside is nice just to be outside, the area is bordered by a parking lot on the three open sides. It still seems to work.
Good bar service, good food, good service, reasonable prices for what you are getting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to dine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a locally owned restaurant with 99% of the food made in house. My sister, husband and I had dinner here while traveling through Ann Arbor. The service was excellent, the food delicious, and the atmosphere relaxing. While I was expecting more of a Greek Mediterranean menu, we were not at all disappointed with the more Italian fare. I had pasta with fresh tomatoes and basil, my husband had cannelloni, and my sister a seafood dish. All were made of fresh ingredients and delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterrano also viewed

Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Arbor, MI
 
Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Mediterrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.