We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit Coffee Shop in Downtown Ann Arbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Cafe's

Sweetwater Cafe's
123 W Washington St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
734-769-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 529 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Restaurant details
Pemberville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Must Visit Coffee Shop in Downtown Ann Arbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I personally make an effort to visit this coffee shop each time I visit Ann Arbor, Michigan. This lovely coffee shop has everything one would expect from a coffee shop--coffee, French Press, espresso, cake, cookies, etc. In addition to this, Sweetwater has seating that accommodates seating for group; there is also seating for individuals wishing to do some work on a lap top while enjoying a cup of coffee. With afternoon to late evening hours, this coffee shop is a must-visit restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Sweet Treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I often visit the Sweetwater's Cafe on Plymouth Road in Ann Arbor. It's the best cafe by far on the north side of town. It large--lots of tables for computer geeks as well as comfy chairs around a fireplace--and cozy at the same time. The staff is always courteous and friendly. It's not cheap (over $8 for cup of tea and a piece of carrot cake [my favorite]) but I think it's worth it. I love to sit in one of the big leather chairs in front of the fireplace and while away the afternoon with a good book. Only one problem (and it's a problem with so many restaurants in Ann Arbor). The sound level is awful. Bring your earphones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best house blend coffe in Ann Arbor, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

There isn't much else of note. Their coffee is roasre by Paramountin Lansing. I am no sure who is electing the blends but the house blend is the only one that is ocnsistnet and without harsh notes. The pastry case looks nice but quality does not warrant the pricing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The place is great to chat with friends, though it is popular so there are often few seats open. The atmosphere is pleasant. Talking is OK, as is studying.

The tea is fairly good. For in-shop drinking, the place gives real mugs and teapots. The chai is slightly sweeter than I would like. The jasmine tea is great, though I would not be able to tell it apart from jasmine tea sold at Trader Joe's.

It is also open very late!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I usually get a really sweet, hot dessert coffee, like their carmel apple one. Very good for taking a breather and enjoying a delicious warm (or cold) beverage.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Cafe's also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwater Cafe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Cafe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.