We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heidelberg

Heidelberg
215 N. Main St., Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1412
734-663-7758
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #390 of 519 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Some of these reviews were pretty harsh so I was afraid to try this place. I dined with three others and each of us got a different entree. Everyone liked every course they were served. One or two of our items did not seem to be quite hot enough, but basically good. We tried the sauerbraten, sausages, spicy hamburger patty (It has a special name which I have forgotten), and kasespaetzel. We had soup and salad appetizers and German chocolate cake dessert. Everything was very good and seemed much more authentic than the other reviewers gave it credit for. Also, the interior of this place is very quaint and cute. I hope they make a go of it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't go if you appreciate good or even fair German food! Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was certainly a disappointment, looking forward to a good German meal. I can't believe they have stayed in business so long. The worst German food I have experience. I ordered Sauerbraten dinner with red cabbage and hot German potato salad and my husband ordered the Wiener Schnitzel with red cabbage and spaetzle. Nothing tasted good or had a hint of German flavor. We were very hungary and tried our best to eat the poorly prepared food but left chalking it as a bad choice. The food was not very hot, the service was okay, the restroom was clean.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
1 review
“no authenticity in the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having been born in Austria and lived in Germany several years I was looking forward to a delicious authentic German dinner earlier this evening. I ordered a combo plate with Wiener Schnitzel and Weisswurst with a side of German Potato Salad and Spatzle... the Spatzle was the only thing that remotely resembled German cuisine... the Weisswurst was very dark reddish coarse and dry.... definitely could not have been made with pork and veal and been that color or texture... the Wiener Schnitzel was not pounded thin was flavorless dry and was not breaded as it should have been.. the German Potato Salad was swimming in oil.. was brownish colored and had green onions in it instead of thin sliced sweet onions ... didn't taste
at all like it should have.. it was a very disappointing experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cheap immitation of German Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Ordered Yeager Schnitzel which has a mushroom top.Small piece of fried meat and the topping tasted like Campbell's Mushroom soup, hardly warmed up. TERRIBLE! My wife's sampler plate of brats was OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Was good......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Food was almost as good as we had in Germany. Price was reasonable and restaurant was average.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidelberg also viewed

 

Been to Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.