We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed its prime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
3010 South State, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
(734) 663-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 517 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Passed its prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came to a wasteland for a 1 p.m. lunch. No one there. Servers indifferent or not well trained. Cark
atmosphere. This used to be a busy place particularly on weekend. I'd have to do a real
comparison to check it out. Making efforts to be cheaper, combos, etc. Not likely to return soon.
Food just okay and it all seemed to be chicken something.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Weekend Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We took a day-trip on Saturday to Ann Arbor and we decided to have lunch at the Macaroni Grill about 3:30. No one greeted us at the door, but a server did zip by and say that someone would help us shortly. Although the restaurant was not crowded, we were given a seat, on the right side of the restaurant, near the wall. About every 15 minutes there was noise and vibration coming from behind the wall. When I asked our server about the noise, she acted like she never noticed it before. I thought she should have offered us another table, but she didn't. It took way too long to get our food. My pepperoni pizza was average and it seems to have more crust than toppings. My friend ordered chicken that was served with asparagus and potatoes. She thought it was good. Overall, I was pretty disappointed with my first visit to Macaroni Grill. I probably won't return to this location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow Service in the kitchen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We waited over 90 minutes from the time we placed our order until the food was delivered and then only after we complained to the manager. The waitress checked at least 4 times for us coming back to tell us we were next on the grill. The manager provided us with a credit on the bill to make up for the service but of the four meals we ordered, three were cold, one was over cooked and the last meal was just OK. Next time we will go to Olive Garden.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had heard such good things about this place. Maybe we just ordered the wrong things but we were really disappointed with the food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slow Service with Average Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recall Macaroni Grill being much better but lately the food has been subpar. Not only that, the service is VERY SLOW. If you come for lunch on a workday, expect to wait a long time to wrap up a bill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.