We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Evergreen Restaurant
2771 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2427
734-769-2748
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 506 restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but not great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Evergreen has good food but not what I would call great food. The staff is very pleasant. I was disappointed in the amount of meat included in the dish especially considering we had ordered off the more expensive dinner menu.

The interior dining area is clean and pleasant, better than some other Chinese restaurants in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    2
    6
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fixture for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It has been our Chinese restaurant of choice for 20 years. Good value, good food, fast service. The combo plates at lunch and dinner are top values.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic Cantonese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The dishes tend toward Classic American/Cantonese which are a bit sweet. Some Americanized Sechzuan selections also available. Nice family business. Just stick with what you like.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We knew this restaurant because its at walking distance from our home. Very good ambience, waiters are very friendly and polite. The restaurant got a pretty long menu but the number of dim-sum (Dumpling) option is very little compared to other chinese restaurant. We ordered two starters, one drink and one large main course (enough for two), but what was surprising was the final bill, only $19 with some coupon it went down to $16 (not bad for two). I would recommend this restaurant as must visit if you're in vicinity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local Chinese Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food is adequate. Nothing to write home about. Sesame Beef is not bad, but perhaps a bit too sweet. Hot and sour soup has little of the taste and texture we love.

Good for spontaneous takeout.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Restaurant also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Evergreen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.