We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian food with a lot of variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seva Restaurant

Seva Restaurant
2541 Jackson Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
734 662 1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 470 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food with a lot of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We've eaten here several times at the old location and the new- personally I think the new location's ambience is not as charming, but it is WAY easier to park your car. So not bad actually. Food- is great, as a vegetarian it is great to see an entire menu you can choose from. Many of the dishes are tasty and they have a rotating menu of specials, so many are actually unique. With such a large variety of cuisines (Thai, Chinese, Indian, American, Italian, etc.) some of the dishes are bound to miss the mark. But most of the dishes keep me coming back, and the desserts are pretty tasty too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    21
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“New location - Westgate - don't miss the sweet potato fries!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I had not been to Seva for some time as the parking in downtown Ann Arbor always seems challenging, so I was pleased to learn that Seva had moved to the Westgate Center. A friend and I went for lunch which turned out to be a pleasant, though not outstanding, experience. Firstly, the new space: It certainly doesn't have the hippy charm of the old restaurant. It is large and corporate-looking. Although the old stained glass windows have been incorporated into one wall, the overall impression of the restaurant is plain and rather sterile. Before the visit, a friend had recommended "Rennie’s Peanut-Kale Salad", described on the menu as "Hearty kale, carrots, butternut squash & red peppers, in a peanut-cider marinade", so this was the dish I ordered for lunch. I asked our server to please bring the salad with the salad dressing on the side as I do not care for heavy amounts of dressing. When the salad arrived, the heavy peanut dressing was mixed in with the salad and he reported that "this is the way it is made, the dressing is already mixed in". Well, that is fine, but I do think he should have returned to the table to let me know how the salad is served before just bringing it out to the table. If I had known about the dressing, I would have changed my order. My friend had a grilled vegetable sandwich from the weekly specials menu and pronounced it delicious. She had side of sweet potato fries (and asked for them to be "extra crispy"). Indeed, they were extra crispy, and were the most delicious sweet potato fries I have EVER eaten, bar none!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Whenever we drive from Toronto to Chicago, we stop in at Seva (probably first came 8 years ago). This time was different...

Not a fan of the new location. It definitely doesn't have the same atmosphere. I know it isn't far from where used to be, but now it's gone from eclectic hip atmosphere to stripmall suburbia...boo

Food was good, but nothing was spectacular.

We may well return...my wife being vegetarian, this was an Oasis in the nightmare that is meat centric chains along our route.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“vegan not necessarily healthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to this restaurant a few times (only once at the new location) and found that some dishes work, and others miss. Most recently I did like the mole enchiladas. On the other hand a menu special korma dish was too strong on the cilantro (and I love cilantro, but still too much). It was also a bit dry.

A lot of the menu items turn out to be fried - tempura, sweet potato fries. I would go back for more - all said I would recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Purely Vegetarian and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's not always easy to find a place where you can just sit down and order right from the menu without asking questions about if a dish contains meat or not. Here is one place where you can eat anything off the menu as a vegetarian.

We eat here often with our daughter who is being raised as a vegetarian and she loves it as well. Nachos are our favorite for an appetizer. Then, the decision becomes much more challenging! We love the sandwiches like the TLT or the Portabella burger. Our daughter loves the vegan mac and cheese.

I love the fresh lemonade with ginger. Great way to end a delicious meal at Seva.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seva Restaurant also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Seva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seva Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.