We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Digital Menus for All, Digital Proof for None” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Real Seafood Co.

Real Seafood Co.
341 S Main St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2164
888-456-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Real Seafood Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 470 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Liberty and William
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Digital Menus for All, Digital Proof for None”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I had enjoyed Real Seafood in the past and were happy to book the restaurant for our daughter's birthday meal. We had read that they had a good discount for birthdays. So we picked her up from her dorm and met a friend there, whose birthday was the day before, only to realize our daughter, who didn't need her purse, forgot her license. We parked next door, walked in the cold around the block, and were hopeful they would give us the birthday discount, because we did not want to go back to the parking structure, to the dorm, park again, and back to the restaurant. They gave each of us an IPad to order our meal but refused to accept her U of M account online, showing her birthday info. They needed a hard copy license. The food was decent but their service was weak at best. A real disappointment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    78
    33
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Typical of Main Street - over-priced and over-hyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Over-priced and relatively bland. If you want a nice fish/seafood, hit the Common Grill in Chelsea instead.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food and atomphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Love everything on the menu. Haven't had a bad meal. Even Non-seafood lovers can find something special too. We go for special occasions and casual meals outdoors in the summer. Barb- Manager- is so warm and welcoming and very accommodating. The wait staff is very well trained and the chefs sure know what they are doing. the atmosphere is really cozy and eclectic. It has a nice vibe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice birthday dinner for my wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have been going to Real Seafood Co. for years, the food and service is always top notch. The pre-meal bread should not be allowed. It's delicious and addictive leaving no room for desert. I tried the Scallops with blue cheese and while I enjoyed my meal, I'll try their traditional offering next time as the blue cheese over-powered the taste of the scallops to me. Our service was excellent, in a non-overbearing type of way. Restaurant week is coming up shortly and I'll probably head back for lunch

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You can count on a good meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The wait staff is very professional and they strive to provide a top notch dining experience.
I have never been served a bad meal at this restaurant. They could increase their portion size a bit .
( love their lake perch but the it's pretty expensive and they do't give you much) Still the best place in town for a birthday meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Seafood Co. also viewed

Ann Arbor, MI
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Real Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.