We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gratzi

Gratzi
326 S Main St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2108
888-456-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gratzi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 470 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

"Awesomeness." Really excellent, authentic Italian with five star service. Diverse menu and attentive staff. The food here has flavor and character, as does the building itself. Eclectic furnishings add to the pleasant experience of eating here -- well worth every penny. A wonderful surprise in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    86
    38
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate at Gratzi tonight, and the meal was wonderful. I love Gratzi's decor, bathed in a warm glow in the dinner hours. My husband had salmon, and I tried the Orechiette alla Rustica, a marvelous dish of house-made Italian sausage, garlic, pasta and the right about of red pepper for some kick. Service was excellent, inviting and friendly.

Grazti is very popular, and with good reason. I recommend reservations if you're visiting on a Saturday, especially on a football weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great place, needs more vegetarian options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The atmosphere here is great - the restaurant is two stories with a very wide and tall center, due to it having been a theatre back in the day. Beautiful to look at. Anytime we ask for a nice table for special celebrations, we get it, often the main 4 person table on the second floor by the large window.

The food is good but for an Italian restaurtant, the two vegetarian options (one pizza, another main dish) aren't enough - there are many great meatless Italian dishes out there that I'd like to see Gratzi showcase.

Drinks are good and we have never, ever had a bad server, in the dozens of times we have been there. I also love that they make a reservation for you at La Dolce Vita next door for dessert, if you wish and you can take your drink with you, if you haven't finished.

One of my Ann Arbor favorites!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worse than Chef Boy R Dee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in town for U-Mass Game with friends last Friday Night.
Horrible my beloved Calimari was grease and tough.
Steak was still moving, Ice cold mashed spuds,

Wine was good, and Mushroom app was great.

Waitress should work in funeral home very noise.

Not sure what this place is doing but it nor working : ( : (

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've been to Gratzi many times now, for business, with friends and with family. I'm pleased that they're not one of those snobbish places that treat business diners differently from when you're out with your family and perhaps not spending as much. I've found the staff to be very professional, very courteous bordering on warm every single time.

The food, what can I say about the food - anything I say will not do justice. The food, not only tastes great, but is plated and presented just beautifully. That alone pleases to the point where tasting is merely confirming what you see.

They have a great wine and liqueur selection as well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gratzi also viewed

 

Been to Gratzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gratzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.