We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Crepe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What Crepe

What Crepe
241 East Libert, Ann Arbor, MI
734-369-3207
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 529 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“What a Great Crepe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This little place is worth the trip. Cute bar, atmosphere and great staff. Ordered the Smore crepe on my first visit...pure bliss. Paired it with a wine which the bartender recommended, put the experience over the top! On my second visit I had the warm veggie crepe and it did not disappoint. They have a pretty big crowd on Fri and Sat so try to avoid those busy days so you can sit back and enjoy a great Crepe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Different cuisine........a must try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first time here, so after a friend gave me a Groupon we decided to try it. My first impression was not so great. We were seated and after 20 minutes later we had to flag someone down someone to get served. The Server (Ayah) whose attention we got was very apologetic and compensated us with drinks. We actually thought that Ayah was a Manager and was surprise to learn that she has only been a Server there for 4 months, she was very professional and attentive. After we ate our appetizer, she came to get us so that we could watch them make our meal through the window glass. My daughter and her friend really enjoyed that!

We order for an Appetizer which was Crepe Crispies with Queso Dip, it was pretty good. There were 3 in our party and the savory crepes we order were (favorite to least favorite) Signature Ribeye Truffle, Crepe De Crevette (open face Shrimp crepe) and the Déjà vu (Smoked salmon crepe). The next time I go, I will definitely order the Ribeye Truffle crepe……….that was DELISH!!! The only thing I didn’t like about the Savory Crepes is that the crepe itself is a bit sweet and seemed a little doughy. I wonder if it could be cooked a tad bit longer. We all split our sweet Crepe which was The Patriot (bananas, blueberries, strawberries, ice cream & nutella). I’m a sweets person, so of course this was my favorite of them all!

As we were about to leave, a manger came over to also apologized and compensated us with free Crepes coupons each for our next visit. We will definitely go back and hopefully we’ll have Ayah as our Server. It’s rare to get good customer service like this nowadays. Keep up the good work Ayah, I can see you being a Manager here or somewhere very soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Assorted crepes good to try atleast once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Never had the savory crepes before.Had gone with friends . Nice decor and one can see the chef making the crepes through a glass window.
Liked the combination of ingredients in Mexican and Deja Vu with smoked salmon and asparagus.
Also the sweet crepe- chocolate eclair was delicious .
Service was good too.
One had to pour water in the small water glass .you end up refilling yourself since its so small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Crepe's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is nothing better than a nice thin crepe made like they do over in France and What Crepe is the place to go for this. Their menu covers the gambit of any crepe you might like so don't worry about them not having what you want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best restaruant in Ann Arbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been in A2 for the last two months on business and I've tried pretty much everywhere in a 10 mile radius of downtown. What Crepe is without a doubt the best restaurant here. It's unique, cool, affordable, and most of all delicious. It's the only place I miss when I'm back in Boston on the weekends. I've been here 5 times and every time has been amazing (the people I've taken agree). Come in, have a creative cocktail, try to decide what to eat and enjoy. What Crepe is the BEST

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What Crepe also viewed

 

Been to What Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What Crepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.