We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but needs great improvement overall!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Michigan League

Inn at the Michigan League
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Michigan League
Save
You added Inn at the Michigan League to your Saves list
911 N University, Ann Arbor, MI 48109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great location, but needs great improvement overall!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed over Artt Fair weekend and the staff was not at all prepared for quest: our room was not cleaned, Internet did not work, and no one seemed to care. The rates for our stay were out of touch for what was offered; no breakfast included and really poor accommodations Would think twice before booking again. Bell Tower is much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

There are three hotels in this general vicinity and I chose Michigan League because it had the most reasonable price. Given the fact that it's on the fourth floor of a school building, my main concern was that this would be closer to a dormitory than a hotel. That fear was quickly allayed when I arrived to find a large, clean, well-appointed hotel room. Staff at reception were always friendly and willing to help. The building itself has wonderful character and is in a great location, on Central Campus right across from the Burton Memorial Bell Tower and steps to State Street. Parking was free (a block away), which was a nice surprise and something I'm not used to from other hotels. We were each provided with $4.50 vouchers that could be redeemed at the downstairs cafe, or a number of other neighbouring establishments. I should mention that our room didn't have a phone - not a big issue for most people these days. There's also no room service or laundry available. All in all, I was very happy with my stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

good place if you are a prospective student, but certainly nothing special as far as accommodations. good price for the area and great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at the Michigan League for 3 nights. We were in town for a wedding, so there was a block of rooms.

It definitely has a dorm feel, especially when your friends are just down the hall. The location is wonderful, right in the heart of campus. We were able to walk to and from the wedding. We ran to the Nichols Arboretum (spectacular!!!) every morning. We were also able to walk to all restaurants, bars, movies, and Shakespeare in the Arb(oretum). On our way home from Shakespeare, we were able to watch the movie "Hugo" outdoors, in the quad adjacent to the Michigan League (as part of the Ann Arbor summer festival).

The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. A pleasant surprise.

For the money, I thought it was a fun and fabulous place. If you are looking for more luxe accomodations, stay at the Bell Tower Inn.

Room Tip: It's noisy, so we used the IPod dock next to the bed to play white noise on a repetitive loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a perfectly nice small hotel right in the middle of campus. The location couldn't be better. It was quiet, and the young staff was attentive and very helpful (and let me check out late since I was at a conference in the hotel).
Only criticisms: The in-house breakfast offerings are not very interesting; there's a "convenience store" with coffee and pastries, and a Mexican cafe (for breakfast?), and a Wendy's, which doesn't open until lunchtime anyway. There are plenty of good places a block or three away, but if the weather's bad or you're in a hurry, that's not ideal.
Also, the Wi-Fi is weird. It may have been a function of the conference I was at, but it was very, very, slow, and blocked out a lot of the Web, for no apparent reason. But there was a live Ethernet jack in the room, and when I hooked up to it, the Web access was excellent. Go figure. But bring an Ethernet cable if you want a good Internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

So far, we have only stayed in Room 414, which is behind the clerk's desk, and near the elevator. The rooms (and check-in) are on the fourth floor. Since my husband is an outpatient at the UM Medical Center, we got a special rate, but were not able to take advantage of the included breakfast ticket since we had to leave before seven. Parking is included for patients, not sure about others. Personnel is very friendly. It is within walking distance of State Street where our favorite restaurants are. Definitely a find!

Room Tip: Ask the clerk. We liked room 414, but so far have not stayed in any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our tax driver couldn't find it though and delivered us to the Bell Tower Hotel despite using a GPS. It's on the 4th floor of the Michigan League building which is a kind of student union building. Large room with a king sized bed. Only downside was the heat/Aircon. We couldn't turn the heating off and so only options were to turn on the very noisy aircon or open the window as it was too hot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at the Michigan League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Michigan League

Address: 911 N University, Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Inn At The Michigan League Hotel Ann Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Michigan League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.