We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best mix of artists in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ark

The Ark
316 S. Main St., Ann Arbor, MI 48104
734-761-1451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Ann Arbor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nonprofit organization and nightclub is dedicated to the presentation and encouragement of folk, roots and ethnic music through live performances by well-known and up-and-coming entertainers.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Always the best mix of artists in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Ark continues to provide high quality music performances, new artists and seasoned veterans, at a reasonable cost in a great venue. If you are in town, even if you haven't heard of the artist performing, go for it. Chances are you will not be disappointed. Hope this place goes on forever. It has brought so many music greats to Ann Arbor for decades.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Live music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely night listening to a wonderful pianist. We had very comfortable seating with a good view of the performer. I was a bit disappointed that I had to buy a membership to buy adult beverages. All in all, it was a nice experience. We will visit The Ark again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very handicapped accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am in a wheelchair and a friend took me to see a concert a few weeks back. The concert was great, the venue is very accommodating and allows wheelchair patrons to enter prior to event so they can sit next to their party. The venue is small and very intimate and yet enjoyable for all who attend. Really did not seem like a bad seat in the house. There were munchies available because we missed dinner prior to the concert. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fantastic place to see live music. The prices are remarkably affordable for the quality of sound and performer you are likely to see. It's nice to see an organization focusing on the quality of music and supporting the artists rather than simply making money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Zoe Keating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place to catch an intimate concert. Great prices, and nice little snack bar. Only thing I would so differently is get a reserved seat instead of general admission. Can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ark also viewed

 

Been to The Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.