We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place at all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Motel 6 Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad place at all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way home from a tigers game. It was cheap and not a bad hotel to spend a night. The rooms actually looked really modern and different from most but it was clean and good enough for us to spend a night. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    22
    3
    15
See reviews for
16
7
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I read that the room was updated. Thinking this would be a nice place to stay. No!

You can hear everything from outside. I felt like I was sleeping in the parking lot.

When they updated this motel, they cheaped out on the sound proofing of the doors and windows. When you can hear a couples' conversation from outside- from 3 room down. Clear as day. Huston, we have a problem!

Found short black hair in the bathroom (not mine, I have curly long brown hair) and dog paws prints on the bed sheets (I don't own a dog).

I did like wifi and blue colour on the walls.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We got an excellent deal at this motel during graduation weekend. The room was comfortable. Comfy beds. Nicely updated with fun colors, furniture and simple decor. But, even with all the cosmetic updates, there is no doubt that it is a Motel. Pretty cold feeling rather than homey. They don't provide shampoo or body wash. Our room also didn't have a hair dryer or even a clock. For the price is was good, but I would pay the extra for the amenities and extra comfort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a clean, basic, no-frills Motel 6 with renovated rooms and comfortable beds. Surprisingly the flat screen tv had hook ups for computers and HDMI. This is a good choice for economy accommodations.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Motel 6 in Ann Arbor is a good location especially if you are attending a U of M football game, or going to events on the U of M campus. The rooms are a nice size and the beds are reasonably comfortable. Rooms were clean, but I found the floors to be stickie, which from running a former cleaning and maintenance company was due, in my opinion, to too much soap in the water, or not proper rinces. The grounds are nothing special, but are back off of the main road, and it is quiet as long as the tenants are quiet, and not celebrating an event. The staff is helpful and polite. If you are looking for a budget motel, this is the place for Location and price. Nothing fancy, but was remodeled within the past couple of years.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you are in town in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I travel to Ann Arbor 4-6 times each year and always stay at this Motel 6. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the rooms are spacious, the property is nicely landscaped and the price is a bargain. I've never had a problem with noise either from traffic or other guests. I've stayed here during U of M homecoming and every month of the year except July. At every visit the staff has been friendly and courteous. I enjoy the flat panel TV and the wide selection of channels. There is a nice little outdoor pool and a McDonald's adjacent to the property. Each time I've visited the ice machines have worked and the WiFi has been reliable which is something I can not say for some more expensive places to stay. For about $3.00 more you can get a room with a micro/refrigerator. The location is great, just off I-94, which provides easly access to all parts of Ann Arbor. The property is well lit and there are some nice trees and grassy areas. All rooms are ground level and I like being able to park just outside my door. I've stayed here many times for many nights and will continue to be a "regular" at this Motel 5.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the property for the most quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Our experience at this Motel 6 was ruined by a young women who should reconsider her ability to properly work with the public.
Was extremely belligerent and impatient with us for not swiping credit card in the correct interact machine, ( there where three of these machines beside each other). She then tried to hurry us along in a very bullying fashion for i.d. even though we where the only ones in the lobby. Unbelievable!
When you are tired after a long day on the road the last feeling you want is anger for being treated in such a shabby way.
As for the room we where given it was ok if you could stand the smell of urine unsuccessfully masked by sickly sweet disinfectant.
All in all not the greatest experience.
Please do yourself a favor, go elsewhere.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Address: 3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Motel Six Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Motel Six
Ann Arbor Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.