We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can hear everything from outside!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Motel 6 Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“You can hear everything from outside!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I read that the room was updated. Thinking this would be a nice place to stay. No!

You can hear everything from outside. I felt like I was sleeping in the parking lot.

When they updated this motel, they cheaped out on the sound proofing of the doors and windows. When you can hear a couples' conversation from outside- from 3 room down. Clear as day. Huston, we have a problem!

Found short black hair in the bathroom (not mine, I have curly long brown hair) and dog paws prints on the bed sheets (I don't own a dog).

I did like wifi and blue colour on the walls.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkheart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We got an excellent deal at this motel during graduation weekend. The room was comfortable. Comfy beds. Nicely updated with fun colors, furniture and simple decor. But, even with all the cosmetic updates, there is no doubt that it is a Motel. Pretty cold feeling rather than homey. They don't provide shampoo or body wash. Our room also didn't have a hair dryer or even a clock. For the price is was good, but I would pay the extra for the amenities and extra comfort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natys_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Motel 6 in Ann Arbor is a good location especially if you are attending a U of M football game, or going to events on the U of M campus. The rooms are a nice size and the beds are reasonably comfortable. Rooms were clean, but I found the floors to be stickie, which from running a former cleaning and maintenance company was due, in my opinion, to too much soap in the water, or not proper rinces. The grounds are nothing special, but are back off of the main road, and it is quiet as long as the tenants are quiet, and not celebrating an event. The staff is helpful and polite. If you are looking for a budget motel, this is the place for Location and price. Nothing fancy, but was remodeled within the past couple of years.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you are in town in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I travel to Ann Arbor 4-6 times each year and always stay at this Motel 6. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the rooms are spacious, the property is nicely landscaped and the price is a bargain. I've never had a problem with noise either from traffic or other guests. I've stayed here during U of M homecoming and every month of the year except July. At every visit the staff has been friendly and courteous. I enjoy the flat panel TV and the wide selection of channels. There is a nice little outdoor pool and a McDonald's adjacent to the property. Each time I've visited the ice machines have worked and the WiFi has been reliable which is something I can not say for some more expensive places to stay. For about $3.00 more you can get a room with a micro/refrigerator. The location is great, just off I-94, which provides easly access to all parts of Ann Arbor. The property is well lit and there are some nice trees and grassy areas. All rooms are ground level and I like being able to park just outside my door. I've stayed here many times for many nights and will continue to be a "regular" at this Motel 5.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the property for the most quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our experience at this Motel 6 was ruined by a young women who should reconsider her ability to properly work with the public.
Was extremely belligerent and impatient with us for not swiping credit card in the correct interact machine, ( there where three of these machines beside each other). She then tried to hurry us along in a very bullying fashion for i.d. even though we where the only ones in the lobby. Unbelievable!
When you are tired after a long day on the road the last feeling you want is anger for being treated in such a shabby way.
As for the room we where given it was ok if you could stand the smell of urine unsuccessfully masked by sickly sweet disinfectant.
All in all not the greatest experience.
Please do yourself a favor, go elsewhere.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twolovedcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

First of all, you are staying at a Motel 6, so you know its going to be on the cheaper side. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton. I stayed there, and my room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the TV worked. I felt safe in the neighborhood, so it met my needs. I stayed at the Motel 6, so there's no shampoo and the towels are thin and scratchy. BUT, it was clean and affordable for me. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ja827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recent remodel could have been done in a better quality way. They have attempted to give the property new life but It looked like low quality materials were used, the old was just covered up. Floors are uneven, not carpeted which may be easier to keep clean in the long run. I could hear guests in other rooms even when they are not going out of their way to make noise.
I stayed in a King room. The bed cover was stained. The room had a nice table with a chair and a padded bench. The TV was built into the wall. An overnight storm knocked out the TV. Paint job brightened the room. Towels were softer than other Motel 6's I have stayed at. Nice wall length countertop for sink. No dressers added to spacious feeling of room. Curtains are not adequate to keep security lights out of room which negatively effects sleeping.
The wake up call was humorous, recording of Tom Bodet saying you won a million dollars, oops! its time to wake up. Not so humorous when someone made crank calls to several rooms, I got mine at 2 a.m.
There is a McDonald's within walking distance. It is near many Ann Arbor destinations. Zingerman's Bakehouse & Creamery are in the industrial park next door!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator48614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#21 of 32 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.4 mi away
Lamp Post Inn
Lamp Post Inn
#27 of 32 in Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Address: 3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Motel-6, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Motel Six Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Motel Six
Ann Arbor Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing