We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. Clean. Good location. Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Mascoutah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Clean. Good location. Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I travel to Ann Arbor 4-6 times each year and always stay at this Motel 6. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the rooms are spacious, the property is nicely landscaped and the price is a bargain. I've never had a problem with noise either from traffic or other guests. I've stayed here during U of M homecoming and every month of the year except July. At every visit the staff has been friendly and courteous. I enjoy the flat panel TV and the wide selection of channels. There is a nice little outdoor pool and a McDonald's adjacent to the property. Each time I've visited the ice machines have worked and the WiFi has been reliable which is something I can not say for some more expensive places to stay. For about $3.00 more you can get a room with a micro/refrigerator. The location is great, just off I-94, which provides easly access to all parts of Ann Arbor. The property is well lit and there are some nice trees and grassy areas. All rooms are ground level and I like being able to park just outside my door. I've stayed here many times for many nights and will continue to be a "regular" at this Motel 5.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the property for the most quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    16
    2
    14
See reviews for
15
6
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Our experience at this Motel 6 was ruined by a young women who should reconsider her ability to properly work with the public.
Was extremely belligerent and impatient with us for not swiping credit card in the correct interact machine, ( there where three of these machines beside each other). She then tried to hurry us along in a very bullying fashion for i.d. even though we where the only ones in the lobby. Unbelievable!
When you are tired after a long day on the road the last feeling you want is anger for being treated in such a shabby way.
As for the room we where given it was ok if you could stand the smell of urine unsuccessfully masked by sickly sweet disinfectant.
All in all not the greatest experience.
Please do yourself a favor, go elsewhere.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

First of all, you are staying at a Motel 6, so you know its going to be on the cheaper side. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton. I stayed there, and my room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the TV worked. I felt safe in the neighborhood, so it met my needs. I stayed at the Motel 6, so there's no shampoo and the towels are thin and scratchy. BUT, it was clean and affordable for me. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recent remodel could have been done in a better quality way. They have attempted to give the property new life but It looked like low quality materials were used, the old was just covered up. Floors are uneven, not carpeted which may be easier to keep clean in the long run. I could hear guests in other rooms even when they are not going out of their way to make noise.
I stayed in a King room. The bed cover was stained. The room had a nice table with a chair and a padded bench. The TV was built into the wall. An overnight storm knocked out the TV. Paint job brightened the room. Towels were softer than other Motel 6's I have stayed at. Nice wall length countertop for sink. No dressers added to spacious feeling of room. Curtains are not adequate to keep security lights out of room which negatively effects sleeping.
The wake up call was humorous, recording of Tom Bodet saying you won a million dollars, oops! its time to wake up. Not so humorous when someone made crank calls to several rooms, I got mine at 2 a.m.
There is a McDonald's within walking distance. It is near many Ann Arbor destinations. Zingerman's Bakehouse & Creamery are in the industrial park next door!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Yes the hotel has been renovated, but the building is still old and does not appear to be built on a concrete foundation as you can hear every footstep of your neighbor, as well as the TV sets. Rooms are very sterile with lack of carpeting and most furniture you find in other hotel rooms. The room also smelled of cleaning chemicals when we arrived and required hours of airing out.
Did I mention the blood stains on the sheets?
There are also several people living at this site (both saw it and had it confirmed by staff), which gives it more of a low income housing feel than a vacation getaway.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The rooms we got where suppose to be none smoking first one had baggie over the smoke alarm and smelled so bad of smoke the second one was the same third one was better but still smoke smell. There internet you have to pay for and did not work at all. But the place was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My first impression was - "Not safe" The hotel is not in a good part of town, characters were hanging around and the lobby had security cameras and security doors to protect hotel employees. We had to wait while they finished cleaning our room. Got into room and had to leave because the cleaner was overpowering - which is amazing because, it was filthy. The sink and tub appeared clean, but the floor left my socks blackened and the bed covers had black dirty smudges everywhere - even had toothpaste smeared on one. I had to kill two spiders - one of which was a BLACK WIDOW! The room had some large winged bug already squished into the peephole on the door. Other not so lovely features included: fun house mirror, booby-trapped sink (splashed water directly on person standing in front of it), HARD bed, wet toilet paper (a real joy), and absolutely no amenities (not even a clock or kleenex). Needless to say, we did not enjoy our stay. :-(

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Address: 3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ann Arbor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Motel Six Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Motel Six
Ann Arbor Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.