We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Sturgis, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will not stay here again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My first impression was - "Not safe" The hotel is not in a good part of town, characters were hanging around and the lobby had security cameras and security doors to protect hotel employees. We had to wait while they finished cleaning our room. Got into room and had to leave because the cleaner was overpowering - which is amazing because, it was filthy. The sink and tub appeared clean, but the floor left my socks blackened and the bed covers had black dirty smudges everywhere - even had toothpaste smeared on one. I had to kill two spiders - one of which was a BLACK WIDOW! The room had some large winged bug already squished into the peephole on the door. Other not so lovely features included: fun house mirror, booby-trapped sink (splashed water directly on person standing in front of it), HARD bed, wet toilet paper (a real joy), and absolutely no amenities (not even a clock or kleenex). Needless to say, we did not enjoy our stay. :-(

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    16
    2
    13
See reviews for
14
6
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

standard motel 6, clean cheap and cheerful! not a lot more to say really... would reccomend and stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I'm giving this Motel 6 four stars, keeping in mind that it's a Motel 6 so there's a severe limit on how good or luxurious it can be, OTOH being a Motel 6 the price was very good.

What makes this Motel 6 distinctive is that its architecture is different from the usual 2-story boxlike structures that characterize most Motel 6's that I've seen. Single story, more sprawling (so no stairs, but longer walks to get to the office, pool, etc.). But it was the interior (at least of my room; I didn't see other rooms) which was the most unique: furnishings and decor which were a bit post-modernist and a bit Crate-and-Barrel-ist. E.g. instead of an ordinary towel rack there were brightly colored ... I guess you'd have to call them shelves or slots, they looked more like decoration than like utilitarian pieces, but they were quite functional. The whole room was like that: unusual or innovative design and decor. Again, nothing ultra-fancy but certain out of the ordinary most especially for a Motel 6. I wonder if the motel had been designed and built by someone else, and got bought and converted into a Motel 6 -- but with the interiors left intact.

The location was good for people wanting a cheap place to stay in Ann Arbor, assuming they have a car. It's two and a half miles from the campus of the Univ of Michigan -- so an easy drive but a very long walk. It's next to an office park and behind a McDonalds ... there were one or two other restaurants pretty close nearby, maybe a convenience store, not much else. It's also close (1.6) miles to Ann Arbor Airport, but I don't know if many people use that airport. Over 20 miles from Detroit Airport -- but Detroit itself is about that distance from Detroit Airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stay at this Motel 6 every year NASCAR weekend...it is a great value...the front desk is very nice and friendly..it does get a bit rowdy by the pool during this weekend..keep in mind with young children..housekeeping does an awesome job..don't hesitate to stay here

Room Tip: The pool area a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This Motel 6 has been recently remodeled. With all the hype about stains on carpets and bedspreads in motels in general, I guess these designers decided to dispense with those items altogether. Along with some IKEA-esque furnishings and appointments, our room had the feeling of some kind of cross between an RV and a college dorm room. It was quite spacious, however, and had plenty of outlets for charging various electronic things that needed charging. It's quiet, the staff is friendly and the decor grew on me. The beds are new, and very comfortable. The shower was great. There was a fridge and microwave, and it was easy to stay here for a couple days while getting my Little Sister squared away at U of M just a couple miles up the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

For $50 including a day's wifi and tax, this was a great value stop over on our way from Toronto to Chicago.

The room was very clean and bright and the beds were comfortable, although certainly not luxurious.

It was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep.

Check-in was quick, although the staff member was on autopilot and barely managed a smile.

At this Motel6 I got more than my money's worth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This hotel was terrible! There were no amenities at all, the bathroom door wouldn't close, the towels were dirty, the beds were hard as rocks, and the floor was so filthy you didn't want to put your feet on it. Our worst ever hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Address: 3764 South State Street, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ann Arbor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Motel Six Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Motel Six
Ann Arbor Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.