We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marsa Mediterranean Cuisine

La Marsa Mediterranean Cuisine
301 S. State, Ann Arbor, MI
(734) 622-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 519 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Friends were in from out of town and wanted to eat Mediteranean food so we went to La Marsa. The menu had lots to choose from. I had the Mousakka with chicken and liked it a lot. We also ordered the baba ghanouj which was great. The stand-outs were the desserts. Baklava and rice pudding. One of the owners came to our table because we just had to know what was in the rice pudding that made it so good. Large portions, really good value. Superior service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good food from the Middle East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ann Arbor has a number of restaurants featuring food from the Middle East, and this is one of the best. Comprehensive menu, generous portions, tasteful preparation and nice presentation. I was with a small group and everyone was pleased with their dinner selection. Our server was helpful and very attentive. La Marsa is near the university but is not a "campus" sort of place; it's a very nice place for dinner, and close to the Michigan Theater, Hill Auditorium and the Rackham building.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, big portions, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was seduced by the pictures of lamb chops in the window, so I tried it for dinner, and was not disappointed. The chops they served me weren't quite as gorgeous as the ones in the pictures, but they were delicious, and I wisely ordered a small plate of them (2) since the normal portion (3) would have been way too much and I didn't have a refrigerator to take them home to!
Side dishes--especially potatoes--were fabulous. Wait staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected culinary surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Found this gem on my first visit to downtown Ann Arbor. Ordered a dish called "koshary", Egyptian, and could not believe the portion size;it was enough to feed two, and tasted delicious. Delicately seasoned and cooked. My friend ordered shwarma, lentil soup and was also impressed with the quality. Our young waiter was attentive,checked in often, and answered our questions about the food, politely. All staff appeared friendly and welcoming. We asked if we could leave our "doggie"bag stored n their frig since we were going across the street to see a movie at the Michigan Theater and didn't want the savory aroma wafting through the movie house. The manager came over and cheerfully said yes! Upon returning from the movie, we had tea and baklava-deeeelish! I highly recommend this eatery.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, mi
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Mediterranean comes to State Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Diners are in for a very special surprise when they enter one State Street's newest restaurants. Inside is the authentic Mediterranean experience. Service was very friendly and attentive, food was great, and value is excellent. This is definitely not just a "campus" eatery. While we were there for dinner, there were several college students but also a wide variety of other people. Great place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marsa Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to La Marsa Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marsa Mediterranean Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.