We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished, comfortable, great value for price in a pricey neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3621 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2659   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Refurbished, comfortable, great value for price in a pricey neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Returned here after a decade for the first time by walking in on a Friday evening, not the best time to get a room in Ann Arbor. Warmly welcomed by Barb at the front desk, I was given a very nice King room in a quiet location, lovely comfortable bed, clean, clean, clean. As they accept pets, it was a nice treat to see the new non-carpeted floors. My senior rate was much much lower than the neighboring newer motels, and our room might have been much quieter, with doors to the outside rather than the interior hallway. That is because other motels nearby had hockey and water polo teams occupying many rooms. I have been there, done that in Ann Arbor. Check in and out is very quick, and the breakfast voucher at the adjoining Big Boy is great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet spot and you will be happily accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear andarcaminos,

Thank you for returning to our Ann Arbor Red Roof location. We sure have upgraded our product with two full property renovations over the past 10 years. I'm glad to hear that you were able to experience our improvements first hand once again. We strive to provide our guests a clean, comfortable room along with exceptional service every stay. I'm thrilled to hear that we hit the mark. I look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Regards,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
31
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Red Roof over the past weekend while in Ann Arbor to visit a relative in a nearby hospital. I read on Trip Advisor the reviews of other guests who had stayed there and based on good comments, chose this hotel. We were not disappointed! From our first encounter with Barb, one of the front desk staff, to our checkout, we could not have asked for a nicer place. Originally I booked reservations only for myself but in the end, my daughter came with me. The front desk staff member immediately offered to change my room from a king bed to a deluxe double, without my requesting it. She ensured it was on the first floor so that my daughter, who has difficulty with stairs, didn't have to climb to the second level. Any requests made were met with prompt and cheerful efficiency. The room was lovely--recently redecorated, fresh, immaculate and comfortable. The hotel is very quiet, even though it was reasonably busy. The Big Boy Restaurant connected to the hotel offered good food and the convenience was impossible to beat. The breakfast buffet is excellent. We had vouchers from the hotel for breakfast that covered part of the cost of the buffet. If we had chosen from the special menu for Red Roof guests, it would have covered all of it, but the buffet was too good to turn down. I can recommend this hotel and restaurant without hesitation. Wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We faced the back property line of the hotel and it was very quiet there with no traffic noise. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear MaddieNiagaraFalls,

Thank you for choosing our Ann Arbor location and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay by posting on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you and your daughter loved our renovated rooms and our free breakfast at the attached Big Boy restaurant. It sounds like our team well accommodated your requests and you received exceptional service. Thank you for allowing us to serve you and your daughter.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel. It´s simple, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is nice too, and there´s always coffee available at the reception. The staff is helpful. I recommend this hotel: You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear talita777,

Thank you for visiting our location and providing your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found this location to be clean and comfortable as that is our main goal. The free hot breakfast at the adjacent Big Boy restaurant is quite good. I am pleased to hear that you took advantage of this perk and felt the same. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm giving this four stars because I was pleasantly surprised. Not posh but nicer than I would typically expect for a hotel in the price range of a Red Roof Inn. The front desk checked us in quickly and staff was very friendly. Our room was great -- comfy bed, nice layout, plenty of outlets. Rooms open to the outside, but we didn't have any issues with noise or odors from smokers in our room. BONUS: There's a CVS right next door - you almost can't see it, because of the trees, but it's just a few hundred feet away, it's open 24 hours, and has a complete selection of wine, beer and liquor. You won't get room service here but you can easily put together your own nightcap!

Room Tip: (No elevators to the second floor -- you'd want a first floor room if you'd have trouble lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear CocktailMom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Red Roof Inn location on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and efficient. Sharing a parking lot with a 24 hour CVS sure has it's perks. Please visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were visiting the University of Michigan and needed a pet friendly hotel. This was a great choice for us. Room was updated and clean. Bigger room. Only drawback was this seems like the hotel the medical patients at VA stay at while getting treatment. Lots of older people milling around outside. Not really a drawback, just odd, and sometime invasive. Lots of grassy areas to exercise our dogs. Free parking. Vince was very friendly and helpful in the front office. Applebee's behind the hotel. Close to the highway & University.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear jkdaves,

Thank you for choosing our Red Roof location while visiting the University of Michigan. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience at our location and enjoyed our updated rooms as well as our friendly staff. Our close proximity of the area hospitals allow us to serve patrons and their family member during difficult times. We love our VA and U of M Hospital guests! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although this Red Roof Inn has the typical appearance of a motel on the outside, we were pleased to see that the interior had been updated with nice woods that gave the room a warm feel.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the wireless internet signal was good. We had a non-smoking room and did not have any problem with room odor. The area felt safe and the location was great; it was near a highway interchange and only a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Ann Arbor.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Otsumami,

Thank you for visiting our property in Ann Arbor and taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all your positive feedback about our renovation as well as the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. Thank you again for allowing us to exceed your expectations. We look forward to having you as a return guest very soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had not expected to stay here but our reservation for another hotel was botched and there were no rooms left. The other hotel called Red Roof. Barb got us in to a king room right away. She even called us after we got into the room to make sure everything was okay. The room is spacious, has adequate outlets, a fridge and mike, but average lighting and a minuscule room for the toilet and shower. The sink area is outside the shower room and is quite modern with better than average counter space. The work desk is wonderful and there is another chair besides the desk chair. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. I am sorry to hear that your previous experience with another Ann Arbor hotel didn't go so well, however I am glad we had a chance to have you experience our hotel for the first time. Based on your feedback, it appears that you enjoyed your stay and our renovated rooms. We will ensure you are treated just as well if you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Address: 3621 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2659
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
#12 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, in landscaped surroundings - 4 mi fm downtown Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.