We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Friendly staff, free internet, really clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value! Friendly staff, free internet, really clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night before an interview at University of Michigan. The staff is exceptionally friendly and made check-in and check-out a breeze. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. The room was sparkling clean and comfortable. Walls were a bit thin. Shuttle bus to campus was easy to arrange. Overall, excellent value and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay for a short trip to U of M.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    300
    120
    21
    15
See reviews for
302
111
77
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a very affordable place to stay but a little bit away from Ann Arbor's more fun shopping and dining areas like Main St. and Kerrytown. For those without a car, they do have a shuttle but it only runs from 7am until 6:30pm. A cab from the Main St. area is about $17-18 and a cab from the Detroit airport is $60 (both prices include tip). The rooms are on the smaller end and the amenities are no-frills, so this is really a place to sleep, not to hang out for extended periods of time. I did appreciate the cute window seat that my room had and they do offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here for a recent interview at the University of Michigan, and could not have been happier with the hotel. It was a bit small, but very clean, and the bathroom seemed updated. The place was very quiet, which was nice since I checked in early to get some sleep the prior day. It was close to where I needed to be, and parking was free. Would definately recommend and will defiantely stay here again if I ever come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnebog, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We came into Ann Arbor to see a Delbert McClinton concert at The Ark. This was the third hotel we checked, the two others we stopped at were booked. The lobby and entryway were inviting, and the staff cordial. We got a suite for just a little more than the price of a regular room. The suite was cramped with little free room to move around. All rooms have queen beds and were fairly hard. The thermostat in our room didn't work and even though it was set on 63 for sleeping comfort the temperature rose steadily throughout the night to 76 degree's. We were also on the freeway side of the hotel so we got to hear the traffic on I-23 all night. The room was a little on the shabby side but it was clean. This would be better suited for a business person or a patient/family for the University Hospital. They are also in the process of remodeling so be prepared for a little noise after 10 a.m.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an even number to get on the side of the hotel that doesn't face the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurium, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stopped for an overnight stay on our way home from 2 weeks on vacation.

Everything I expect from a Microtel. Well maintained, clean, and friendly. Had a great stay.

Lots of room for breakfast with a good selection.

One note, the hotel can be a bit hard to find. Turn off off Plymouth..it's tucked in back behind a Hampton Inn and a couple other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The rooms were bright and large, our only complaint was the positioning of the TV high up on an armoire in the corner, making it almost impossible to view from one of the beds.
Breakfast was plentiful, however there was not a good selection of healthy items, not even bread or English muffins offered.
The location was very close to the highway, and restaurants, and the price was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate,New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We rented three rooms and were given them on the first floor. Even in the lobby you could smell some sort of carpet shampoo odor, but as we approached the first room it grew and when we entered it was so strong we had to leave immediately. We tried the next two rooms. All of them reeked, two were unbearable. We asked at the desk for different rooms. The clerk gave a curt "we 're full" and that was it, no apology, explanation, or suggestion for the smell. Despite the cold weather we were forced to open the window and run both the bath fan and heat and spend as little time in the room as possible. We had pre-paid and my husband felt we had no choice but to stay.
The breakfast was scant and the lobby-dining area "7-11" ish, but for the money probably to be expected. Meanwhile the room was as pictured, but the TV is in a ridiculous position, the small TV set form the 90's perched way on top of the wardrobe. The sheets are rough.
All in all though if it hadn't been as if my face were being shoved in a pile of carpet shampoo, I might have said it was fine for the money.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor

Address: 3610 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
#9 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#10 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ann Arbor/Plymouth Road
Microtel Inn & Suites Ann Arbor/Plymouth Road Hotel Ann Arbor
Microtel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Microtel
Microtel Hotel Ann Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.