We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frita Batidos

Frita Batidos
117 W. Washington, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
734.761.2882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 519 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ann Arbor has its share of delicious food and flavors, but the Cuban fare here is not to be missed! Many of the Cuban "classics" have been updated with unique twists and are served to you in a loud, crowded dining hall packed full of hungry strangers. They serve delicious drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and incredible desserts. I'm getting hungry again just writing this. Go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sandwiches worth travelling 300 miles for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Singularly the best sandwiches in Ann Arbor, and that is a bold statement. Cuban food elevated to a special place. The Plantain Chips are also wonderful. The flavors are amazing, the staff is friendly. The chorizo frita is extraordinary. Worth a trip to Ann Arbor, jus t for a sandwich!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cuban street food in its dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

More homage than authentic, chef/owner Eve Aronoff does her own take on Cuban favorites -- fritas, the Cuban equivalent of hamburgers and batidos, fruity milkshakes with or without rum. I visited with a group so we sampled and shared. Everything was fresh, beautiful and, best of all, tasty. The closest to authentic was the chorizo frita -- the spicy sausage patty topped with shoestring fries and served on a soft egg bun -- yummy. So was the fish frita made from Lake Superior whitefish with lemon-scented mayo and shoestring fries. My personal favorite was the pulled pork sandwich topped with sweet chili mayo and tropical coleslaw. From my experience, I'd say you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. And you have a world of toppings to add to the fun. The avocado spread could have passed as guacamole in other parts of the country -- wonderful, with just the right amount of heat. And the batidos were addictive. I'm making myself hungry just remembering the meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love this place for good "burger" type food. Add the Cuban flair and you've got a wonderful mix of flavors and twists on what you might think of as a burger. I've heard their drinks are fabulous too; just haven't tried one yet.

I love the Black Bean Frita with the avocado and muenster cheese. All the fritas come topped with their great shoestring french fries. I get a craving for this place about once a month and it makes me glad I live in Ann Arbor and can wander downtown to satisfy my taste buds any time I choose! The greatest challenge here is eating slowly. I tend to go when I am really hungry and I almost always wish I had savored my meal more because before I know it, it's gone and I'm way too full to order another...and then I can't wait till the next crave inspires me to return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Occasional Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Frita Batidos is a treat. It's more expensive than what you'd generally pay for a sandwich and drink. But, that's why it's a treat. It's not the typical "sandwich and drink" in that the ingredients are of quality and creatively used. The blend of flavors is great. My husband and I both had the chorizo frita and would get a different frita next time...it was a bit too heavy (like everything here). Don't pass up on the garlic fries or plantain chips. The food will keep us coming back...the price tag will keep that visit occasional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frita Batidos also viewed

 

Been to Frita Batidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frita Batidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.