We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Street Food on White Picnic Tables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frita Batidos

Frita Batidos
117 W. Washington, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
734.761.2882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 529 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Vista, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cuban Street Food on White Picnic Tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This food was tasty and the mango drink was heavenly. The staff were kind and patient as we cared for my 15 month old granddaughter. They provided a cute and secure seat that fastened on the table edge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cuban inspired and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My daughter selected Frita Batidos when I made a quick visit to Ann Arbor recently. She told me that it was recommended by a number of her friends and wanted to try it. It has a clean, contemporary feel with picnic tables for seating. You place your order for food and beverages at the counter and then are served at the tables very promptly. Once the lights were dimmed and multiple tealights were placed on all the tables the atmosphere was just perfect! We each chose a Frita, my daughter, beef and I chose the fish Frita with toppings recommended by the staff -- both melt in your mouth delicious! I was really hungry so this hit the spot and we treated ourselves with a Churros Espanol for dessert. The staff is friendly and helpful with the menu. We'll be returning to try some of their other inspirations!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This spot works!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great, fresh food. No fuss, plenty of muss with sauces and sides. A delicious spot to visit again and again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I absolutely loved this place! Was taken here for dinner with relatives, and was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere is very laid back, kinda casual-chic feel to it. It is clean and staffed with friendly people who stopped to chat with us. It is a tiny place, so it was a bit busy, but is was cool to sit next to people we didn't know and strike up a conversation.

The food is an American take on Cuban street food and it's delicious! Great options/customization for your sandwich, which is quite large. I had the chicken frita with muenster cheese, fried egg, avacado spread, and bacon with a side of fried plantains. Seriously yummy and filling. All ingredients were fresh-tasting, not old like there were sitting in the back kitchen. This place also makes great "milkshakes"...make sure to add a splash of rum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Expensive and Extremely Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food here is tasty but expensive. We had no trouble running up a $36 tab for two sandwiches (including the recommended toppings), and two drinks (one of them a beer at Happy Hour prices).

Arriving on a Tuesday at 10:30 PM, we were the last patrons of the evening. The music was extremely loud, making it difficult for us to hear the person who was taking our order. The noise level was significantly exacerbated by the absence of any sound-dampening material; the floor is wood, the walls are brick, and the ceiling is drywall along with exposed pipes. Don't plan on having any significant conversation in an environment like that.

You order and pay for your food at the counter, and it is subsequently delivered to your table. The decor is spare and stark, and the seating consists of picnic tables. This might make you think that you're in a fast-food restaurant until you remember your bill.

Although beer and (second-rate) margaritas are available, no wine is sold (unless you count sangria).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frita Batidos also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Frita Batidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frita Batidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.