We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shawarma...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star's Cafe

Star's Cafe
2575 Jackson Ave, Westgate Shopping Center, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-3818
734-996-0299
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 470 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great Shawarma...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I discovered Star's a few years ago and am addicted. A great place with a convenient location and lots of parking. Recently I picked up some chicken shawarma and baba ghanoush. Delicious! If you haven't been, you should.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food this side of the Middle East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As one who has travelled to the region this is the best middle eastern food I've had other than being there, and it's better than a lot of places I've been in the mid-east. Fast, friendly service - everything is freshly made. A real hidden gem compared to some of the bigger restaurants, the personal service, price, and quality of the food make Star Cafe stand out. If I want middle eastern cuisine for lunch Star Cafe is THE place to go. Everything is good, but especially recommend the crushed lentil soup, falafel deluxe (with a side of garlic paste and chili sauce), the tabbouleh, the baklava, and their coffee drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Convenient and good Middle Eastern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We get carry-out or eat here at least once a month. We love the spicy chicken sandwich. My husband thinks Star's tabbouleh is one of the best in town because it is not too sour. The babaganoush is also delicious with a smoky flavor. The two things I wish were different were: 1) they stayed open beyond 7 pm and 2) the employees could be friendlier rather than matter-of-fact. Their lack of warmth, however, might be due to seeing them after a long day of work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
“Quick Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Tired of McDonald's this is q good wick option.
Gyro's were good as. Is t e spicy chicken.
Reasonable fast & friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
1 review
“horrible food, way overpriced.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

horrible food, way overpriced. disgusting. service was a c-.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Star's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.