We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood stains on walls!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor

Save Saved
You added A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3750 Washtenaw Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blood stains on walls!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived for the color run 2012 And the room seemed decent u till we inspected more closely, the ajoining room door was badly damaaged, there was blood stains on the walls of the room and the bathroom as well as the ceiling of the bathroom and a badly cleaned shower! Very unsanitary, unfortunately all hotels were booked so we had no choice but to buy our own Lysol and attempt to sanitize the room. Pool empty, staircases smell of urine. I'm sure you will have no record of our stay but this review is 100% accurate and have photographic proof. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    6
    54
See reviews for
9
12
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The pictures of this hotel look nice and inviting but it's far from what you really get. When we arrived we noticed the pool emptied, no one mentioned that it wouldn't be available. The Place smells musty and smoky even though it's a smoke free place. The elevator was scary, looked like it hasn't been updated since the 80's.
The first room they put us in was a dirty room not even ready for use. They switched us to a different room and it wasn't much better.
The mirrors were streaky, dust on the tv cabinet, the bed poorly made. We found someone's empty Red Bull can sitting by the bed. There were few channels on the tv, the wifi was slow.
In the morning we found garbage, a towel and someone's chew and spit in a styrofoam cup shoved into a drawer.
If it hadn't been so late or if we had noticed the garbage when we got there we would have gone some where else. But because we slept there the front desk said they couldn't do anything for us.

The man at the front desk also told us that a room key at their hotel will open any room.. I found that less then comforting.
I would recommend that no one stay here until they put it under new management and give the place a complete makeover. They might be better off tearing it down and rebuilding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This motel is well located, but it really needs a thorough cleaning. The staff was very nice; but that couldn't make up for the bad accomodations. I cannot recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The only good thing about our room was the shower. The rest of the room felt dirty, especially the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

There was not a single redeeming point about the facility, the staff or the experience.

Just the lowlights, sink backed up with the smallest amount of water, the handicapped room had no handicapped fixtures, just an additional hand bar next to a standard toilet, broken bathtub, stained linens, ants, VERY poorly lit and a funky smell.

Front desk doesn't answer thr phone, they put everyone on hold and leave you there. Just an awful experience. Drive extra miles to come back into town.

Sign says rooms starting at $49.99 but that is only on Tuesday thru Thursday. My single was $65 and the front desk clerk was embarassed to explain the deception.

Room Tip: travel back into town if you must verses staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

Old rooms, horrible breakfast, careless staff. As you can read by all the reviews - the audience isn't wrong.

I tried to stay, however I left after the first night. Filed a BBB complaint and got the money back from my credit card.

Needs to be torn down - one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVictory, Public Relations Manager at A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for writing your review. Unfortunately, we do not have any record of your stay. We encourage all guests to write a review. If you did stay at our hotel, your concerns could have been addressed 12 MONTHS AGO in December 2010. We have shared your review with all of our guest service agents and none of them recognized you. Which I'm sure you understand that after 12 months and 21,000 guests later, it is hard to recognize or remember hardly anyone. Thanks again for posting your review, but it must be for the wrong hotel. If you did stay in Ann Arbor we apologize on behalf of all of the Ann Arbor family of hotels.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Positives: The staff tries hard and are reasonable friendly...

Negatives: Room was spartan (probably a bad word to choose in Wolverine Country, but accurate), had fax sent to their # three times and despite confirmation from sender that it was received, they never forwarded it to me, AWFUL continental breakfast, no hangers in room until I asked for them and the shampoo that was provided in bathroom was packaged in plastic sugar-pack type wrapping.

The other major problem here is that if you're trying to head (West) towards the UofM campus, you have to go through a strip mall for two intersections to be able to turn that way. Otherwise you have to head East towards Ypsilanti.....

The reason I chose this place was because I got a very inexpensive room rate, but kept thinking of the proverb "you get what you pay for" all during my stay there. Only reason it wasn't rated as "terrible" was that the staff was reasonably friendly and made attempts to correct the multiple deficiencies.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Stay somewhere else and drive into Ann Arbor if this is your only option. The rooms smell, the carpet and furniture is dirty and stained and the elevator has this Japanese horror movie thing going. Had to switch rooms because my first non-smoking room smelled so much like cigarette smoke. The second one wasn't much better. I would expect more if I had paid $50, much less the $129 they charged me. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVictory, Public Relations Manager at A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
First things first, we condemn your derogatory remarks about Japanese. Second, our elevator does not have mirrors. Third, we sell out every football weekend. With that written, it is impossible for you to have stayed at our hotel. Furthermore, we do not have any records of any guest named Furious Toast stay at our hotel. We appreciate your review but it’s the wrong hotel.

Thanks and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor

Also Known As:
Ann Arbor Victory Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Victory Inn And Suites
Ann Arbor Victory Hotel
Address: 3750 Washtenaw Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Motor Inn located 2 miles from downtown or University of Michigan campus & Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.