We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, and Helpfull.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 US 23 North, Alpena, MI 49707 (Formerly Holiday Inn Alpena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alpena
Lincoln Park, Michigan
2 reviews
“Nice, Clean, and Helpfull.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a Family emergency. My sister was in the hospital. The staff was sympathetic to our needs and helped us in every way we asked. They even gave us a special discount in association with the hospital to make it more affordable. The free breakfast in the restaurant was delicious. They helped make our stay as comfortable as possible. If I ever have chance to visit the area for pleasure, I'd be very happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the hot complimentary breakfast that we serve in our dining room. We hope you are able to come to Alpena and visit us again under happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed a couple of nights while in the area for business. Staff was great and all were very friendly, even checking to see if I needed anything when they saw me in the hall since I had the do not disturb sign on my door.

Room was dated, but clean. Hotel was very quiet and the bed was comfy. Keep in mind that if you are traveling for business, there are not many outlets. I had adapters and another cord with me which helped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Clean room, comfortable bed, great toiletries and surprised our "basic" room had a fridge. Friendly bar and great restaurant. Nice pool/hot tub recreation area including a great gym. And most impressive was the fantastic friendly service staff.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us that great review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Rooms are so so. They were clean but we're showing wear. The staff seems very scaled back. I had to wait for someone to man the counter when I checked in and out. The person was off doing other things.
The restaurant had slow service but the food was ok.
Not many other choices in town. Probably best choice in Alpena.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that nobody was at the desk to greet you upon arrival. We take all reviews quite seriously, so I looked up your arrival on our camera system. I did see that our guest service rep was vacuuming behind the wall and did not see you arrive. It did take him 59 seconds to spot you on his camera and get to the desk to check you in. I apologize again that he chose the time of your arrival to do some of his other work. I hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Alpena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyle7692
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We were in town for a hockey tourney and the whole gang stayed here. The pool area is great! Ping pong, putt putt, pool, sauna, and large areas to bring your own food. The attached bar/restaurant was great and they gave us a package deal that included breakfast. I would agree with others that said the property is a little dated. But, still very good overall.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
As the only full-service hotel in Alpena, we feel we have everything a sport's team could ask for--our huge indoor recreation center tops the list and is always a hit with the kids. I am so happy you and your team enjoyed it! Thank you for this review. We hope you will stay with again when your team is in Alpena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I spent the night before a business meeting here. Enjoyed having a good restaurant within, as well as a pool and hot tub for relaxing the night before. Bar is also on site.
Room was nice, good bed. Really handy to go to my meeting on site the next morning.

Room Tip: Rooms arouond pool have easy access to that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
We are so glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

From the moment we came in until the time we checked out, the staff was very friendly and accomidating! Chad at the front desk and Carra the hostess went out of there way for us. Even the cleaning staff was smiling and friendly! Rooms were neat, clean and fresh! They offered us a Plated breakfast since we were traveling with a hockey team. Scrambled eggs, great bacon and potatoes were served to us in the restuarant every morning. Pool area is really nice. Had a great time at the Sanctuary Inn and plan on returning for the next Hockey Tournament.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger than double bed. Very, very comfy beds tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write about it. Our employees are our greatest asset and we are always pleased when someone acknowledges their efforts. We will look forward to having your hockey team with again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1000 US 23 North, Alpena, MI 49707 (Formerly Holiday Inn Alpena)
Location: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpena Holiday Inn, offers the most amenities of Alpena, Michigan Hotels. High Speed Internet Access is only one of the free services to our guests. Our 15,000 square foot HolidomeIndoor Recreation Area offers the traveller the chance to relax in our indoor pool,whirlpool and sauna, to golf on our miniature golf course or apply their gaming skills in our large video arcade. Our exercise room lets the traveller keep their workout regimens while on the road. The only Alpena, Michigan hotel with a restaurant and lounge on property, the traveller needs only to step down from their room to enjoy C.W.'s Barbecue Restaurant serving fabulous authentic barbecue, or the Sneakers Lounge. Business travellers searching for an Alpena, Michigan hotel are unlikely to find lodging closer to their destination than the Alpena Holiday Inn. Ideally located in the city only minutes away from Besser Company, Lafarge Corporation, the Alpena Regional Medical Center,Thunder Bay Manufacturing and Omni MetalCraft. We are the nearest to the country's newest(and only freshwater) national marine sanctuary- The Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary highlights Alpena's rich maritime heritage and the greatest concentration of shipwrecks in the Great Lakes. Historic lighthouses dot the lake Huron coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alpena Hotel Alpena
Alpena Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.