We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saravilla Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Saravilla Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   633 N. State St, Alma, MI 48801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
“Saravilla Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

I encourage anyone traveling to mid-Michigan area to stay at the Saravilla Bed & Breakfast. We have been there 3 times over the past 6 years, so that should tell you, that we have truly enjoyed the releaxing experience, the great food, and the quietness of this fascinating beauty of this home. We have been to many B&B's and believe this to be one of the best ones in the entire Michigan area!!!
Bruce & Sara Kallioinen - Macomb, MI

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
60
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redford, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

Linda and Jon Darrow (the innkeepers) have done a wonderful job restoring this old summer cottage. My room was actually more comfortable than home lately, and breakfast was better as well (fruit parfait, sausage quiche, and wheat toast- Yum!)
The history of the home is fascinating, and although I couldn't partake, they have several amenities such as a pool room, hot tub, and many local spots of interest. A great place to bring your significant other.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — a little hard to find after dark
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

What a gorgeous home. Very clean and lots of history. The inn keepers were very gracious. Lots of time taken for details. Breakfast was just delicious! We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone. Just a delightful place!

  • Liked — the beautiful spacious house and the fireplace in my room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

If you are looking for a relaxed overnight stay with a wonderful selection of rooms this is the place to stay. The Turret Room was beautifully decorated for Christmas, as were all rooms in this magnificent home. Hospitality was the best we have ever encountered and the breakfast was like a gourmet treat.

Jon & Linda Darrow have documented their experiences with updating this 1894 home very well. The history of previous owners and adventures here are also available to read about in the library, located on the 1st floor.

A must see/stop if you are in the area!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

This is a beautiful establishment. Our room was fantastic - everything advertised and more. The location put us about 45 minutes from Frankenmuth, Michigan - another great place to spend the weekend. We loved our experience and plan a return visit to Saravilla.

  • Liked — Affordability - Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing in Alma!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Hts., MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

My wife and I had a absolutely wonderful time during our 3 day stay at Saravilla. We were in the area to attend a nearby convention. A friend highly recommended Saravilla as the best accommodations in the area. We agree and will be back to enjoy this beautiful home again. With a full house, we felt like we had the place to ourselves (11,000 square feet). Personally I loved the reading room with many books on the history of Saravilla, the town and area. I spent hours there. Each night we would go to the guest kitchen with sink, microwave, fridge, .... and have free cookies, cider, hot chocolate, popcorn, etc. and just relax before bed. Jon and Linda were so gracious! They were there to make everyone's stay wonderful. They even offered to bring in and help carry out our luggage! Breakfast was delicious. If you have dietary issues, just tell them beforehand and they accommodate. Here is the bottom line. When we had to pack up and go home, we tried to figure out if there was some way to stay another day!!! You'll love it. Thanks Jon & Linda

  • Liked — Historical beauty
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a bathroom in it if it matters to you.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

We stayed for CMU's homecoming top notch, the regional hotels are not even in the same ball park. We will be back.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 633 N. State St, Alma, MI 48801
Location: United States > Michigan > Alma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saravilla Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.