We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Fantastic Host & Hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Saravilla Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
633 N. State St, Alma, MI 48801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home, Fantastic Host & Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I usually try to find a B&B at least 100 years old, with history to share with us. The house was absolutely beautiful, roomy, clean, comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, and served at a time convenient for us. Having a guest refrigerator was an added plus for us. The town of Alma was very quaint. Our destination for one of the days was Frankenmuth - not too far away. We would definitely recommend the Saravilla as "the place to stay".

Room Tip: All the rooms were gorgeous and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
60
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We just returned last week from a 3-night stay at Saravilla B&B. What a fantastic place! My husband tends to be nit-picky and even he had nothing to complain about! The beds were comfortable and clean.

We have visited many B&B’s and this was one of the best. For such an affordable place, no details are spared. The food is delicious. They provide bathrobes in the bedrooms and complimentary snacks & drinks in the guest kitchen.

We enjoyed sitting on the front porch each evening, and having breakfast with our fellow travelers while debating political issues of the day.

Although it’s a bit far for us to travel to, we are already planning a second visit to Saravilla!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the second floor. We stayed in the Spitler and the picture on the website does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farwell, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had talked about staying at a Bed and Breakfast for years. When we saw that Saravilla had donated a one night stay for a fund raising auction at Rock Lake Christian Assembly we saw this as a perfect opportunity. To make our stay even more memorable, we reserved a room for our 42nd anniversary.
When we drove up we were pleased to find an area designated "Guest Parking". The grounds were well maintained, and the entrance was easily located. We were warmly welcomed by Linda. She knew us by name, and obviously remembered the emails that had been exchanged. Not something we experience when checking into a hotel. She gave us a tour of the main level of the house, then took us up to our room. The room was very spacious and clean, including the bathroom. The views from the windows were beautiful. There happened to be a group of musicians playing in the front yard, and we spent a very pleasant and peaceful evening just listening to the music and enjoying our room.
The next morning we went to the dining room, and we greeted by the owners, Jon and Linda. They served us a delicious breakfast and we sat and talked for nearly an hour. They were a wealth of information for their Bed and Breakfast, and the business as a whole.
We had a great time, and would recommend the Saravilla Bed and Breakfast for anymore wanting the Bed and Breakfast experience in the Central Michigan area.

Room Tip: Check their website for the rooms that would best meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Saravilla as an alternative to Super 8 when my daughter played in a MI softball tournament. Definitely the right decision. The rooms were comfortable-- it was nice to find a B&B that offered large bedrooms with 2 beds. The hosts were very flexible about our crazy schedule and gave good advice about local places to go. The house is very large, so it was easy to find a quiet corner for reading. And did I mention they have a hot tub?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed the weekend for our 1 year anniversary and loved every minute! From the fabulous King size room with whirlpool tub and gorgeous bay window overlooking the front yard, to the guest hot tub and midnight snack bar, finished off with a filling breakfast, we may never stay in a hotel again! :) The Innkeepers are wonderful people; very hospitable and took care of all of our needs including pointing us in the right direction for some evening fun. Our experience can never be duplicated in a mainstream hotel/motel and it was the perfect romantic place to celebrate!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I needed to find lodging in this part of Michigan and tripadvisor led me to this gem!

My daughter and I have never stayed at a B&B before but after reading the great reviews on here, we decided to give this place a try. We loved it! We stayed in The Garden Room and liked that it was set off a bit from main traffic areas (servants' quarters, you know) since we weren't sure if a B&B would be our thing. We saw some of the other beautiful rooms and even though ours was a bit smaller, I could definitely stay there again. Because I do plan on coming to the area again just to stay here.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hosts, the breakfast and wandering through the downstairs rooms. We did play ping pong and Scrabble but I wish we had had more time to spend just reading in one of the many beautiful alcoves, trying the hot tub or sitting on the porch. And even though we were there when the weather was incredibly hot, the accommodations were cool and comfortable.

I'm now curious to sample other B&B's but this one would be hard to top.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Saravilla July 23, 2011 and were delighted with our experience. Our room, The Ammi Wright Suite, is gorgeous. This spacious room, named for the daughter of the man who had the house built, features large windows on three walls, a king canopy bed, a cozy sitting room with wood-burning fireplace, and original hardwood floor. The attached large bath has a whirlpool tub (with shower) and original sink basin.

Saravilla is a huge home--11,000 square feet--and guests are free to roam most of that space. Set on a lovely, wooded, corner lot, on an equally lovely street in Alma, we felt like we had stepped back in time to the days when Ammi Wright herself lived there.

Linda and Jon Darrow, our hosts, were gracious, friendly, and very helpful with dining suggestions, directions, or any other requests. They know the history of their home and surrounding area and conversations with them are interesting! Our breakfast was delicious AND Linda made sure to meet my dietary needs (gluten-free). I informed them of my gluten issues before arrival and they really appreciated the advance notification. If you have special needs just mention them at the time you make your reservations and they will do their utmost to accommodate you.

We heartily recommend a stay at Saravilla and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The website has accurate information about the rooms and has pictures, as well, which help with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 633 N. State St, Alma, MI 48801
Location: United States > Michigan > Alma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saravilla Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.