We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've Stayed in Worse....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Motel to your Saves list
Alma Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 North Wright Avenue, Alma, MI 48801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I've Stayed in Worse....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was really leery about staying here. It's not quite as bad as some of the reviews. Plain and simple, here goes, relatively clean, sheets/pillow cases/blankets tend to be well worn with some tiny holes/ragged edges (blanket), large room with 2 queen beds. Cheap. We were in the back unit which was pretty quiet. Didn't even consider eating their continental breakfast. Frootloops are NOT appealing. Bottom line, if you just need a place to sleep during the Highland Games for a couple of nights it's ok. It's NOT the Ritz Carlton and isn't advertised to be! Our vanity was outside of the bathroom which is a plus. The A/C worked, also a plus. Plenty of hot water. Large enough area for luggage that 2 suitcases could fit fine. Fridge was ok but no freezer door. If we go back to the Games we would definitely consider staying here as it is very handy to everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very noisy heating (also A/C) device with a fan that only knew one speed (the fast one) and very frugal (no bread/toasts, no jam, no butter, just coffee and a few spoonfuls of cereals that didn't seem very fresh) and very late (it's a motel, people get up early to drive on, 7:30 is way too late) breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alma hotels

Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband booked a room for one night at the Alma Hotel and I wish he had read the Trip Advisor reviews prior to the reservation. When we arrived my first impression was how run down the motel looked. The woman working at the front desk was friendly and directed us to our room. We opened the door to a very run down looking room. It was a hot day and the room was warm so we went to turn on the air conditioner. It was disgusting. It looked dirty and had peeling masking tape all around it. We were supposed to have two double beds but instead the room had one. My husband went back to the desk and was given a key to another room, an upgrade in price. The second room was an improvement over the first with an air conditioner that looked newer and cleaner. The room looked clean but the bathtub had some type of stains. The ceiling of the bedroom seemed to be missing a smoke dictator. On the positive side, the Alma Motel had Wi-Fi and our second room had a small clean refrigerator and microwave and the TV worked. I would not recommend staying at the Alma Motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

As advertised. The place in nice and clean. So are the prople that work there!! We used to live in Alma and are happy to find a nearby location we like!! Great for the price! The rooms are not very big, but it's not like we came there to spend all day in our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Generally clean but everything is falling apart in this old motel. Sheets with holes in them. Burned out light bulbs. Dirty old bathroom fixtures.
At check in the front desk clerk (owners daughter?) never smiled and didn't say 10 words total. Creepy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I can overlook a lot of faults in a hotel. I don't care how out-of-date the decor is and I wouldn't even care if they didn't offer cable TV. What I can't deal with is waking up in the morning, and having NO HOT WATER for a shower!

Other issues: when I arrived, the man at the front desk didn't speak English. He had to go get someone else (his daughter?) to check me in. There were guests smoking right outside the entrance to the office. The breakfast was either raisin bran or fruit loops, and an unopened bag of Wal-Mart brand English muffins. Nothing else. All of the doors to the rooms open directly onto the parking lot, and guests who were leaving early in the morning were very loud - including multiple barking dogs. Don't plan on sleeping in.

I'll come up with some positives: location is good - easy to find off the highway & fast food restaurants next door. The wireless internet worked well. That's about it. For the low cost, I wasn't expecting much, but this was even below my much-reduced expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews of this motel before staying. This place is a dump! My first clue was the 'weekly rates' available, and it's a magnet for the homeless and/or destitute. The place is dirty and rundown, with many needed repairs and/or replacement of furnishings. I found the lamp by the bed had been spliced with an entirely different cord, with the wires loosely wrapped in electrical tape and then stuffed behind the bedside table. Another reviewer mentioned a lamp with wires cut and stuck directly into the outlet - I'm sure this is probably the exact same room, and they made a cheap and dangerous 'repair'. The management obviously puts very little back into the motel for upkeep. I was in this room for only about an hour before leaving and getting a refund - not only is this hotel and the rooms disgusting, that room in particular was infested with fleas or bedbugs, not sure which, but they were bouncing all over me when I laid down on the bed. UGH - I went to Mt. Pleasant and stayed at a Hampton - never again will I stay at the Alma Motel!

Room Tip: Drive another 15 minutes north and stay in Mt. Pleasant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
15.5 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites and Conference Center
15.3 mi away
Baymont Inn Mount Pleasant
Baymont Inn Mount Pleasant
#4 of 12 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 12 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
13.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mt. Pleasant
Fairfield Inn Mt. Pleasant
#6 of 12 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
18.3 mi away
Maxfield's Inn
Maxfield's Inn
#1 of 1 in Edmore
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Motel

Address: 1575 North Wright Avenue, Alma, MI 48801
Location: United States > Michigan > Alma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alma Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alma Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Alma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.