We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Shower!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Motel to your Saves list
Alma Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 North Wright Avenue, Alma, MI 48801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
South Bend, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cold Shower!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I can overlook a lot of faults in a hotel. I don't care how out-of-date the decor is and I wouldn't even care if they didn't offer cable TV. What I can't deal with is waking up in the morning, and having NO HOT WATER for a shower!

Other issues: when I arrived, the man at the front desk didn't speak English. He had to go get someone else (his daughter?) to check me in. There were guests smoking right outside the entrance to the office. The breakfast was either raisin bran or fruit loops, and an unopened bag of Wal-Mart brand English muffins. Nothing else. All of the doors to the rooms open directly onto the parking lot, and guests who were leaving early in the morning were very loud - including multiple barking dogs. Don't plan on sleeping in.

I'll come up with some positives: location is good - easy to find off the highway & fast food restaurants next door. The wireless internet worked well. That's about it. For the low cost, I wasn't expecting much, but this was even below my much-reduced expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickman
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews of this motel before staying. This place is a dump! My first clue was the 'weekly rates' available, and it's a magnet for the homeless and/or destitute. The place is dirty and rundown, with many needed repairs and/or replacement of furnishings. I found the lamp by the bed had been spliced with an entirely different cord, with the wires loosely wrapped in electrical tape and then stuffed behind the bedside table. Another reviewer mentioned a lamp with wires cut and stuck directly into the outlet - I'm sure this is probably the exact same room, and they made a cheap and dangerous 'repair'. The management obviously puts very little back into the motel for upkeep. I was in this room for only about an hour before leaving and getting a refund - not only is this hotel and the rooms disgusting, that room in particular was infested with fleas or bedbugs, not sure which, but they were bouncing all over me when I laid down on the bed. UGH - I went to Mt. Pleasant and stayed at a Hampton - never again will I stay at the Alma Motel!

Room Tip: Drive another 15 minutes north and stay in Mt. Pleasant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Poor maintance, worn out, sheets thin, drain did not work in the shower/tub, air cond. was hardly working, shabby in all areas....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Room was clean the first night, second night OK but on the third night the bed was not made, towels on the floor, seedy neighborhood, loud parties, will not make this mistake again. It is well worth extra money to be safe and have a clean room. I can understand with the cheap rates not a great neighborhood, but not to clean the room is inexcusable. They emptied the trash and hauled the used towels out. That was it, bed not made and dirty towel on the floor of the bathroom. NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN, will gladly pay more for basic motel services. Loud Partying going on a 3-4 AM, what a farce. No one to complain to in the morning to check out. If this place could make AAA I would petition against it remaining. Children's toys out by the empty pool, the pictures are totally not correct. Extremely small fridge and microwave. Old TV, not a good experience at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Given the rates for other hotels in the region, we found the Alma Motel very comfortable and clean for our overnight stop. We were on the way elsewhere, and the staff was very helpful and courteous, allowing us a bit extra time before leaving the next day without problems. Although the AC had to work extremely hard the day we were there, it cooled the room to a good level of comfort.
This is not a resort hotel, but basic digs that are very good!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

So most of these reviews are right: worn out rooms, fairly clean, definitely inexpensive, but there's definitely an unsafe vibe. There's an unsavory element to the environment: odd staff, beat up old cars outside of some of the rooms, garbage resting in window sills. Don't think as I did that it's old but clean; it's seedy, not awful, but not even decent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is another "dated" place in Alma, but I found it to be clean and the owner(s) were accomodating.
The bed was old and hard, time to start the replacement rotation. The walls are quite thin, but that is to be expected for the price. Continental breakfast consists of you choice between two cold cereals, but you are right between Mcdonalds and Wendy's..so you have the a very short walk for fast food if you want it, or I have found the Truck Stop on M46 to have very good food.
The carpet passed the "barefoot" test !!
You get a tv, microwave, refridgerator, and internet at no additional charge. My single room was 50.00.
They do have an outdoor pool as advertised, it just doesn't have any water in it....no diving here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Motel

Address: 1575 North Wright Avenue, Alma, MI 48801
Location: United States > Michigan > Alma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alma Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Alma Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Alma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.