We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Place to Eat Not Just Greek!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus and Us Grill

Gus and Us Grill
17445 Hamilton, Allen Park, MI 48101
(313) 359-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Allen Park
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What A Great Place to Eat Not Just Greek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were regulars @ the previous restaurant at this site but when Gus & Us Grill came in it's become a wonderful experience, with great atmosphere like a upscale family restaurant-love the dark wood...their soups du jour: Italian Wedding, Clam Chowder, Chicken Pot Pie, Potato, Mushroom, and always on menu: French Onion & Chicken Lemon Rice and the list goes on are all incredible! Desserts are homemade & their taste is awesome...try the Sunshine Cake or Carrot Cake or any of them!!! Specials are a must to try..Philly Steak, Prime Rib Burger or any burger, Goulash, etc. Their Turkey Rueben, Wraps, our friends like the Lamb Chops...Friday Fish are all great! Strawberry Walnut Chicken Salad is great-I get it with Iceberg Lettuce instead of the Spring Mix Lettuces. If you didn't particularly care for something-food/service, etc, let them know as they make an effort to fix rather than just say 'OK' & then do nothing-they truly are a 'customer first' restaurant. Great Wait Staff include Krista, Andrea, both Kelli's, Roxanne, Liza & others. You'll Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Continued visits are NOT a disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been back several times alone and with friends. Everyone has said how good the food was. We are never disappointed. On weekends you can find lamb chops and shank on the menu. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Regular Eater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We go there practically every Sunday for breakfast. Even when it was Opa's Opals. The food is consistently good and the wait staff is very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Real Gyro's Carved off the Spit,,,Flaming Cheese too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Family Friendly, Amazing Meals YUM

A totally redone new eating spot you need to eat at. For 35 years this place was first the Parkland and then Opa Opa and has just reopened by new owners and all new interior and new comfy seating area. The fast friendly attentive service with a smile, along with positive energy this guy GUS has a truly great experienced crew.. The Sunday afternoon crowd told me word has already got out that this will be on my regular eating spot list.
Classic Greek and American dinners along with seafood and mega breakfast selections that are plated up all day. We started with the Saganaki flaming cheese which was super loaded with flavor as well was the baby Greek salad and the 2 soups the Lemon Rice and Beef Barley was on of the best I've ever eaten. The real deal Gyro sliced from the hot spinning spit was full of that great juicy flavor dipped in the tzatziki sauce. The jumbo Lamb Kebab was marinated to produce a superb tender exciting flavor which was plated up with the most amazing french cut green beans covers in that famous Greek red sauce YUM.
The Turkey & Stuffing special came with mashed taters, corn, soup or salad was a mega deal which was way too much to finish, dressing and all white meat turkey at only $ 8 will be on my list of get it again meals. A special shout out to our waitress Roxanne who was truly on top off her game keeping a close eye on drinks and dirty plates and my favorite of bring along a bag for the leftover boxes which happens rarely. We'll be back for much more over the next few months since I'm sure will be soon added to my favorites list of downriver. Make sure to LIKE their Facebook site as they post the daily specials. ENJOY

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Greek dishes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Gus & Us Restaraunt has taken over the location of Opa Opa. Newly renovated and great food. We tried it for the first time yesterday and took our grand kids there today. Gyro, Greek specialties and sandwiches were tried today. Excellent, no one was disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus and Us Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gus and Us Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus and Us Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.