We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Santa Maria la Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador Santa Maria la Real to your Saves list
Parador Santa Maria la Real
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolivar 625, Sucre 00000, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sucre
Somerset
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“A Lovely boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this magnificent colonial townhouse. Lovely room, helpful staff and a great location. Views of the city from the top floor are fantastic.
The only drawback is that it can take a long time to get hot water in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice review. It is a pleasure knowing you liked your stay with us.
We are gonna take into account your comment regarding the water and will try to do our best to improve it.

We hope to see you again soon for your next trip to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    38
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
21
91
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Undoubtedly the most beautiful place to stay in Sucre - if not the whole of Bolivia!!

Come for a few days stay for a week!

From the moment you walk through the door off Calle Bolivar you are transported to a forgotten time. Comfort is stylishly blended with good taste and luxury. Modern conveniences and antiques sit side by side.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, punctuated with quirky touches, check out the hand basin housed in a sewing machine table!

Internet is high speed & reliable the Business Centre is well appointed & comfortable.

The only difficulty is deciding where to sit: the stunning rooftop terrace; the blue courtyard; or why not the jacuzzi overlooking the beautiful city of Sucre.

Check it out - i guarantee your only regret will be that your stay was too short!!

Don Luis - Lucho - is on hand to welcome his guests & ensure total satisfaction

If this isn't enough to tempt you: you won't pay more to stay here than in any other hotel in Sucre. If you are on a budget - face it we all are - this is the one worth spending just a couple of extra dollars on!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for this incredible review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon if you are to come back to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

if you want to enjoy a colonial atmosphere in a "casone" restored with taste and perfectly furnished, with a welcoming staff, this is your place.
The Plaza central is very close and one of the best museums (museos universitarios) in right in front.
The owner of the place will give you all explanations that you need.
For a beautiful view on the city, just go to the terrace.
I would come back there for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the 2nd or 3d floor for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Charles

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course it would be a pleasure to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small City, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I really debated how to rate this hotel because I would not want you to miss it, but I want you to be prepared for the cold reception.

I know the manager reads these reviews so I hope something is done about training the staff. We are a senior couple, used to traveling to four- and five-star hotels around the world. We had a reservation and yet were made to feel totally unwelcome. We reasoned that we were too grubby, having just arrived from the Salar. However, reading the last two reviews shows that the way we were treated was the norm. By the time we finally got to our room, we were livid. Yet, the other staff were all so friendly and helpful and even the desk treated us better once we were registered guests, although they seemed somewhat overwhelmed by their jobs and unsure how to answer our questions.

Service aside, the hotel was one of the most beautiful we have ever stayed in, with gorgeous views, true colonial charm with real antiques and authentic finishes throughout, a sense of quiet and privacy, and an extraordinary breakfast buffet. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the top floor with multiple French doors, lace curtains for day and heavy drapes for night, a brick vaulted ceiling, antique bathroom vanity, wardrobes, and chairs, and--most importantly--a perfect King size bed with exceptional linens. The bathroom could use a little updating, but--on the whole--this was an experience which we will treasure in our memories.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your overall nice review and rating. We are glad to know you liked our facilities.

Regarding the recepcionist, I am terribly sorry about his behavior. We are currently trying to solve that problem. All our staff received training to offer you the best possible service and we put in place a new customer service that should solve the issue. Please accept our sincere apology regarding this matter.

We hope to see you again soon if you are to come back to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was our 100th stay on our round-the-world honeymoon trip, and we had decided to splurge. We saw that Parador had plenty of rooms available, so rather than making a booking, we thought we'd pick a room in person.

When we showed up with our backpacks, the receptionist said something to the effect of "what do you want?" I was taken aback, and it took me a minute to ask if they had a double room available. When he said yes, we asked if we could see it, and he told us that they were cleaning it. He then told us to give him our passports. We told him we weren't sure if we wanted the room until we saw it, so we weren't sure what to do. He then asked us where we were from, and when we told him Sweden and the US, he said "ahh", as if that explained something and told us again to give him our passports. What a jerk!

When we repeated again that we wanted to see the room before registering and asked when one would be ready, he finally called over another, much nicer employee, who showed us the room. It was a small, standard, nicely furnished room with a tiny bathroom and tiny shower. Not at all what I would expect for $90+ in Bolivia.

The main thing that had drawn us to this hotel was the rooftop jacuzzi that we read about, but after asking, we found out that that was $35 extra. We passed on this hotel and went down the street to the much more friendly and welcoming Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary.

For $20 less than the Parador, we had a much larger room with a California King bed, a shower with dual shower heads, balcony overlooking a beautiful garden, and much, much nicer staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenvoorde, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We slept in this hotel for only one night. We had the Jr. suite what sounds more then it actually is. For Bolivian standard this room was very expensive so we expected a lot. The room is nice, comfortable and the bed is lovely! Except for the loud noise of a big boiler or something like that the room was good. The breakfast and the service was also good. There is only one note, the guy at the reception is jerk. Maybe because we are a couple of 24 years he didn't treated us with respect! It looked like he didn't want us in his hotel or maybe he thought we couldn't afford the room. All the other crew and especially the woman during the evening/night at the reception are really nice. So Except for the guy at the reception we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for the review. we hope you enjoyed you stay with us.

I am really sorry about the recepcionist. We sent him to train and we recently implemented a new customer service which should solve the problem. Please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Parador Santa Maria La Real has heaps of character and has been tastefully restored and decorated. The rooms are impeccably furnished. The environment is classy and stylish. Breakfast is also exceptional. Truly a gem of a place! VERY recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador Santa M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador Santa Maria la Real, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a delight to have you again for your next visit to Sucre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador Santa Maria la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Santa Maria la Real

Address: Bolivar 625, Sucre 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sucre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Santa Maria la Real 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parador Santa Maria La Real, which occupies a colonial building style of the eighteenth century offers elegant rooms with private balconies just 1 block from Plaza 25 de Mayo. Spa facilities and fitness center. Rooms at the Santa Maria La Real have four poster beds and elegant wooden furniture. All rooms have large windows and minibar, and some are in the ancient underground corridors. Wi-Fi is available. A breakfast buffet with fresh juices, breads, yogurt and eggs is served daily. It can be served in rooms on request. The 24-hour front desk can secure shuttles to Azurduy Juana de Padilla Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador Santa Maria la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Santa Maria La Real Hotel Sucre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Santa Maria la Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.