We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cruz de Popayan Hostel

Cruz de Popayan Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cruz de Popayan Hostel to your Saves list
Cruz de Popayan Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Loa 881, Sucre, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found Hostel Cruz de Popayan to be a pretty solid accommodation option. Compared to the average/typical South American hostel we found it to be slightly above par for size, cleanliness and quality of wifi.

In addition, it has heaps of character being an old colonial style building. The courtyard in particular is a beautiful spot to hang out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Located nice and central, and has a good court yard to kick back in to use the free wifi (wifi doesn't work in rooms and pretty slow generally). Nightly rate inexpensive

Unfortunately, the room only had mesh curtains, which could clearly be seen through night and day.

And most importantly, I was attacked by bed bugs!

Would not recommend!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The building that houses the hostel is built around several courtyards in a very nice colonial style. The rooms are clean, showers work well.
The rooms are all pretty simple and don't really provide anything extra apart from a place to sleep. Overall it is also on the expensive side for what you get.
We staid in private rooms with their own bathrooms so this review is based on that.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff were not very friendly or helpful, and one of the beds was broken.

Showers were powerful and hot, and the rooms were warm. Breakfast is included and pretty big - it's worth paying for a private room to get the better breakfast with eggs!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is recently renovated and looks great! Lovely garden area and nice rooms. Location is perfect.

The only thing is it isn't finished yet! We stayed in a twin with shared bathroom. The bathroom has no space to put your clothes or towels. Also the matrasses were terrible, two thin ones on top of eachother... There is wifi around the reception area.

Breakfast was ok and price was 90 bolivianos including breakfast.

If the hostel would finish it's bayhrooms and buy better matrasses we would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the place is expensive for the prices of the city where you can find decent single rooms in the center for 35 bolivian.

the attendants were unhelpful: the night attendant didn't help me put the tv on at about 8.30 pm after the lights went.I was told that it was a problem of the cable company and I had been watching tv until 5 minutes before the lights went.

terrible attendant

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When I first arrived I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious, attractive courtyard areas and nicely sized twin room. The next morning was dissapointing however when we were sent down the road to another (not particularly nice) hostel for breakfast. When we returned we asked about the laundry service and were told it was out of service and we would have to go elsewhere. Later in the day we asked to use the internet on the pc in the reception. We were unable to load a single web page (the man behind the reception watched this happen without helping and then charged us for use!).

I don´t this review to come across as completely scathing as some others are as we did have 4 very decent nights sleep in perfectly clean rooms and a nice environment, it was just the service that was lacking and we too seem to have encountered the ´problem´ staff member (rude, unhelpful and arrogant), although the lady and the night staff were always polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruz de Popayan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz de Popayan Hostel

Address: Calle Loa 881, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cruz de Popayan Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 17th-century old colonial house located on the heart of Sucre. Large rooms with colonial details around to the large patios, hammocks and chairs are prepared to read your favorite book under the apricot tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cruz de Popayan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruz de Popayan Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.