We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels i ve been so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beehive

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sucre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beehive
Save
You added The Beehive to your Saves list
Calle Avaroa 607 | (Entre Calle la Paz y Azurduy), Sucre, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Munich, Germany
1 review
“One of the best hostels i ve been so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Hostel has a really good atmosphere to relax and hang out. Its clean, has big rooms, where a lot of sun is coming in and the breakfast is fresh healthy and good, and if you want you can even do some sport activities, dancing classes or cooking lessons. I really liked it there!

Room Tip: The green room is my favourite because its big has big windows and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I only ever review when something's excellent and I've loved staying at the Beehive. The staff are so friendly and the breakfasts are excellent!!! Normally you get awful bread with a little jam - here you get healthy oats (porridge), fruit salads or decent omelettes etc.

The girl running the Beehive is using the hostel as a platform to help out the less fortunate locals, so it's nice in some utterly basic way to support that.

Hot showers too, not just warm/freezing cold like everywhere else!!!

Room Tip: The Blue room has the best shower >; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in the Beehive couple of weeks. I felt in love with the place. The Beehive has nothing of the others places in town or in Bolivia. In The Beehive, the staff is there for you, to give you advises or just to chat. You will have an AWSOME breakfast! Three choices, homemade and fresh from the morning. If you want to improve your spanish, there are some great teachers and the lessons are cheap. Good beds and real hot shower (so good for who knows the "agua caliente" over there!). Without forgetting all the workshops opportunities there: cooking classes, pilates or everything you wanna share. Go there, you won't regret it!
Thanks for everything to all the staff...

Room Tip: La chambre bleue est plus chaude et a une vue plus sympa. La orange plus fraiche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Bolivia expecting quite basic accommodation but were blown away by this hostel. Amanda has created such a wonderful home away from home experience, with amazing breakfasts, comfortable beds, Pilates classes and a number of activities to partake in, including private Spanish lessons. I've extended my holiday in Bolivia just so I can stay here longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The Beehive has to be one of the best hostels I've stayed in. There is such a welcoming and relaxed environment. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the breakfasts are to die for, and the staff are so friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Its centrally located, a few blocks from the main plaza, and very close to a big supermarket and good restaurants. It's a fantastic place to stay for a night or two or if you're in Sucre learning Spanish (also, they can arrange private Spanish lessons while you stay).

It's a great place, and I'd stay at The Beehive again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hostel has hands down the BEST breakfast and beds of any hostel I've stayed in South America. The beds are amazing so thick and comfortable, showers hot and heaps of pressure not to mention the amazing staff!!!! Was very homely and an excellent place to stay to learn spanish in the comfort of the hostel, Pilates classes, cooking classes, language exchange the list goes on. Would recommend this hostel to everyone!! The only problem is having to leave :(

Room Tip: The blue room is the best, sunny balcony.. awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Beehive ''La Colmena'' is easily the best hostel I stayed at in Bolivia. It's certainly the cleanest, has the thickest, most comfortable mattresses and blankets, the hottest showers, the most delicious breakfast, WiFi of course, and is located right by the main plaza. Kudos to the 4 girls running the place; they clearly have a vision of what they are building there. Well worth the couple extra bucks, seriously!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Calle Avaroa 607 | (Entre Calle la Paz y Azurduy), Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new international hostel, local community center, cafe, and cooperative in Sucre. Our goal is to empower women and small businesses in Sucre to work together towards community economic development. We're located four blocks from the central plaza. Proceeds from our hostel help to support our community programs! Come be part of our family and book your bed today! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beehive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.