We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Hostal de Su Merced

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Hostal de Su Merced to your Saves list
El Hostal de Su Merced
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sucre
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“luxurious stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel provides luxurious accommodation right in the heart of Sucre, at an affordable cost. The building is stunning, with a roof top terrace and sun terrace where there is plenty of seating to enjoy relaxing in the sun. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast was substantial with lots of very tasty choices. Excellent service and a highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Travelbug409,
I thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.

I will forward your compliments to all our team, as the satisfaction of our guests is the best motivation in our future efforts to provide the highest quality of our hotel services.

We hope you will soon visit us again : )
Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    75
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
160
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just come back from my third stay at Hostal de Su Merced in Sucre. I love this hotel - it has huge charm and character and the staff are lovely. I particularly like the old furniture in the bedrooms: it's so nice to sleep in a brass bed. There are lots of spots where you can sunbathe or sit and read under a parasol, the wifi is fast, the breakfast is delicious, they'll look after your suitcase if you have an afternoon flight and you can wait for your taxi (having plugged in your laptop charger to check your emails) in a charming colonial sala.

I managed to leave my toothbrush and toothpaste in Santa Cruz and the señora provided me with a toothbrush and sent a boy out in the rain to get me some toothpaste. Service with a smile . . . !

Room Tip: 15, single, and 5 and 12, double, are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest Chiquitos,

Thank you for the trust you are showing to us every time when you come back to our hotel.
In our home, “No detail is so small and no request is too large”.

I have shared your message, and your words really motivated us, thank you for the feedback :-)
We all hope to see you again in your next visit to the white city of Bolivia.

Sincerly,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

3 days ago we stayed at the above hostal/hotel. Although the hotel has wonderful patios, rooms with lovely antiques (but with old, dirty, unsafe fitments and bathrooms), a charming and helpful staff, I would not give it a four star rating, sorry! We initially booked the suite on the top floor so that we could enjoy the views from the roof-garden. As I suffer a little from asthma and because of the relatively high altitude I had a job to reach this suite. (there was no lift in the Hostal) Geisa the receptionist, kindly offered us a suite on the ground floor, despite the fact that the hotel was full with Japanese and Brasilian groups. Yes the roof-top view was beautiful, yes the breakfast was a varied feast of fruit, sweet and savoury dishes, however we found dinner in the restaurant mediocre. Cannot agree with HelstonMike.. our bed was most uncomfortable, very hard with hard pillows! My husband and I did not get a good nights sleep the 2 nights we were there. I would certainly recommend that the hotel be thoroughly re-decorated and renovated! In addition we were in Sucre on the worst day of the year, Shrove Tuesday and Carneval was in full swing but disorganised! NOTHING apart from a Dutch pub, was open, no restaurants, no museums, no shops (apart from a lovely handicraft shop), no Monster Park, not even the churches, NOTHING! (This was not the case in Tarija, where the Carneval was better organised and quite beautiful, also at least some of the restaurants and shops were open there). If I ever return to Sucre, I doubt if I would stay at the Hostal de su Merced again, and would point out the discrepancies to friends...despite the lovely staff!

Room Tip: You have to be fit, healthy and sporty to get up to the best rooms! Our ground floor suite, though h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Polly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As we have already mentioned by mail, we truly value your opinions and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our charming Staff. We look forward to having superior customer service and we are glad to see that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Regarding the Carnival holidays, we are sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy our city, we hope you understand you made the booking in a period of time, which affects the whole country, and no business or attractions are open to visitors nor locals, even in Tarija (from Monday on). We understand that this might also have had a negative effect on your perspective about our city. For next year may be we could propose activities outside of the city.

Providing our service standards have always been our main concern. We have addressed the restaurant, room cleanliness and bed comfort issues, and spoken with the areas employees in question.

During the stay of our guests, we usually ask how they are filling in our home. Clearly, we were not performing usual standards because we would surely had given you a softer mattress and pillows. We are terribly sorry for not being able to perceive your discontent and disappointment with our services on time.

About the restaurant, we are surprised to get a negative review from you as your husband said our food was delicious. Anyway, we would keep on improving the quality of our dishes. We would contact you for having more details of your food suggestion.

Let us tell you that your review will not be overlooked and will be used to keep on pursuing the excellence in lodging services and for certain you have helped us a lot to improve. We will always cherished the good memory of you helping us and sharing with us the passion for our local music and despite the lack of a lift for being a colonial house, you were able to attend to some of our private concerts in the restaurant.

You are already part of our family and it is our hope to have the chance to enjoy your visit any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, had a great stay, lovely colonial hotel, well located in town. Breakfast was wonderful, the roof garden is gorgeous, especially at sunset….
The only unfortunate incident was being charged for 3 teas that we requested upon arrival at the hotel after a downpour. Every other hotel we visited in Peru and Bolivia had free tea available for the guests, this one did not so we though we would ask, never expecting to be charged!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Trekker08,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better!

I’m really happy that you had a great stay with us and that you appreciated our location and our home made breakfast.

In our usual standards, when some guest asks for a service, we should inform him/her our prices. Clearly, the day you mention we were not following them and for that I sincerely apologize.

Why not giving free tea for guests, we will evaluate this alternative. Thanks again and sorry for the incident.

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.......all the rooms seem to be furnished with beautiful antique furniture and really comfortable beds.........the breakfast is included in the price and is a wonderful feast of cooked foods, exotic fruits and cakes..........it will probably keep you going until dinner which is also another delight.. The views from the roof garden are a delight and although we didn't partake of a "sundowner" this would be a perfect and memorable spot to choose................

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear HelstonMike,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services.
I hope you could visit us again and enjoy the sundowner with us!

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We arrived EARLY in the morning from Uyuni on an overnight bus. The very friendly staff took care of us right away! The hotel was comfortable and had some great views (had a bottle of wine one night looking out over the views). The location is central, but also away from any noise. The breakfast was really good - set you up for the day with the deliciousness and the variety of foods. Again, we really enjoyed this place. If ever back in Sucre, will defo stay here :D

Room Tip: Dinosaur footprints are well worth a visit. Chocolate Para Ti is delicious :) Visit the food market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing some words about us.

Our job is to give a warm welcome to our guests and to offer a memorable stay with us.
I’m really glad that you enjoyed our little house!

Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Royaume-uni
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We first visited this hotel 2 years ago, and this trip only confirmed that this is an excellent hotel to stay. Raul is now back in situ, and is an extremely nice and helpful person, together with everyone else there being extremely friendly, which makes the stay very enjoyable.
It is a colonial style building with an interior courtyard with plants in containers all around, and has several floors, the top two having sun terraces with views over the city. All the rooms contain antique furniture which gives a nice feel to the rooms.
Good breakfast with scrambled eggs, normal range of breads, cakes and fruits, together with a large range of teas, coffee, chocolate and fruit juices.
They also cook mid-day and evening meals in the restaurant. Internet is available It is only a short walk to the centre of Sucre, past some splendid colonial buildings.
Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Tramontana,

We appreciate your kind feedback and the trust you are showing to us every time when you come back to our hotel.
I will congratulate Raul and the rest of the team for making feel our guests at home :)

With warmth,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hostal de Su Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.