We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cafe popular among locals and gringos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abis Cafe

Abis Cafe
Plaza 25 de Mayo N. 32, Sucre, Bolivia
+591 4 6460222
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 68 restaurants in Sucre
Cuisines: American, European, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The best coffee-expert in Sucre (expresso's, cappuccino's and many more). Everything we serve is home-made including the delicious ice-cream and pastry. All our dishes are carefully prepared and handled so you would not have problems with the bowels. Don't worry to eat our salads or fruits. All sorts of breakfasts are served as well. We aim for excellence in all we do. We are open daily from 08:00 till 22:00.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice cafe popular among locals and gringos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two weeks in Sucre and Abis Cafe was our favorite place to have coffee and to do our spanish homework. We went there almost every day!! This dutch owned cafe has very good coffee, wifi connection, delicious sandwiches, and crapes but my favorite was viena Ice cream mniam mniam mniam!! staff was frendly and the place was always spotless. However, the only negative thing I can think of is that the interior is rather simple and old looking but that did not bothered me at all and hey its worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the great comments on our Abis Café. I am very pleased to read that you felt home at our place. That is also what we want to offer to our guests. Quality, service and hygiene are key to us. Most of our customers do like the interior. We might give a little face-lift soon.
Have a safe trip .
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    47
    31
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, NZ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Only ate here once but had amazing huge desserts. I especially loved the dulche leche icecream. The waitress was friendly and willing to answer questions about the menu. The service was quick, even though there was quite a crowd that day getting ice creams. It's a shame we only went once during our stay. So easy to find on the edge of the Plaza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the great response. I am glad that you have been able to make a visit ones at least. All we make at Abis Café is home-made. I am sure you would have loved our many pastries and ice-cream flavors. Thanks again. I hope you have a great trip.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches, 2nd best ice cream, and ok coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've lived in Sucre for 2 1/2 years. My family and I have frequented Abis Cafe many times. Our favorite thing to order are their sandwiches, they are good. Our favorite ice cream is down at the Parque Boliviar, but if that is out of the question, then Abis is our go to place for ice cream in Sucre. We do get the occasional coffee there, but our favorite coffee in town is a block and a half away at Florin where they serve Nakhaki coffee. If Abis were to start brewing Nakhaki then I would stop here much more frequently for coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for having spent some time at Abis Café during your stay in Sucre. Tqke good care of yourself.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

If you need a good espresso in the morning,head to Abis Cafe.free wifi also. There's also good people watching right off to Plaza de Majo

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Owner at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our coffee. People watching is good fun, I agree. Have a nice trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not the cheapest but consistent good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

opens at 8.30 am perfect for breakfast. serves cereals, yogurts, full breakfasts, milkshakes - and delicious sandwiches at reasonable prices - cakes and ice cream shakes a bit on the expensive side - so you might not want to come here 3 times a day. We enjoyed breakfast and afternoon cake several days - our longing for yummy food was stronger than the wallet screaming no! food quality was always consistent - as well as the service - restaurant located right on the main square, ideal for starting your day's expedition.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystorms, Gerente at Abis Cafe, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on Abis Café. I am the owner and care very much for our visitors. Quality and service are highly considered in our little company. We always use the best quality ingredients for our offered products. Therefore we don't have the cheapest products. However, we do make sure that they remain affordable for Sucre. Prices in La Paz and Santa Cruz are much higher.
I wish you a nice trip and thank you for the contribution.
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abis Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Abis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abis Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.