We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far the best pastry I had in South America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe

Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe
Arenales 31, Sucre, Bolivia
00591 464 38136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Moorea, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“So far the best pastry I had in South America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I like to try local food, so generally I had lunch at the market place and went afterwards to Tentaciones to indulge in some of their delicious cakes.
WiFi was much speedier than at the hostel.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TentacionesCafe, Propietario at Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear IsaMoorea W:
It is such a great thing to read a review like yours. Thank you for taking the time to do it and for saying such great things about our pastries and desserts. It is so nice to know that all we aim for is been acomplished with our customers, that it just makes us want to create more sweet experiences for you.
Have a safe trip and thank you so much for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delicious "slow food" restauarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We loved the Tentaciones Trattoria. We've been there almost every day of our one week stay in Sucre. It may take a little bit longer for the dishes to arrive, but the food is always made from scratch - even the pasta. We enjoyed the fruit juices, the attentative service and of course the every day delicious food. High standard made with a lot of style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TentacionesCafe, Propietario at Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Matrik-Patrina! Thanks so much for taking some time to write a review on Tentaciones Trattoria.
We are so happy there is people who apreciate the whole "slow food" concept these days. We are excited as a team beacause that is our main goal and this kind of review makes us put more effort to our job.
Have a safe trip and thank you so very much for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good pizza also lattes & more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This cafe serves breakfast, lunch & dinner with an American theme. We ate a light dinner of pizza & beer. The pizza crust was thin and crispy, just the way we like it. The combination of cheese, tomato sauce and toppings were perfect. The atmosphere is somewhere between a combination of a San Francisco coffee shop in the beatnik era and an stylish Metropolist cafe. The music is new age with continuous beats that last for a long time while the multiple video monitors compete for attention with VH-1 type music videos on some and world soccer (futbol) on others. A wall-sized image of Marlon Brando's face from his role in the Godfather takes up a prominent position that is unavoidable to see. The decor is modern, trendy and goes well with the overall vibe.

We stopped in the next day about 11am for a couple of lattes that were the best coffee we had tasted in over three weeks in Bolivia.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TentacionesCafe, Propietario at Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear viarueda
Thank you very much for your review.
We are so thrilled to know that someone who has reviewed stablishments in 46 cities appreciates our coffee, our decoration and style.
We are really honored you stopped by and wish you a very nice and safe trip.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, High prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I came to Tentaciones a few times during my stay in Sucre, and my food was always pretty tasty. I sampled the chicken wings and pizzas, which were surprisingly good, but the star was always their delicious juices and shakes - I tried a coconut, pineapple, and Brazil nut drink that was killer.

Their prices were always a bit high for the quality, though. There was nothing wrong with anything I had, but I felt that I was always paying a bit much for it. Either way, I'd recommend the food (and definitely the drinks) at Tentaciones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
“Thought it was better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Awesome place situated near the main square of Sucre. Heard of the place many times and went there to see what they had.
The location itself was very nice, giving a different atmosphere than normal times in Sucre.
They have a good menu with a variety of food and drinks, but due to the different touch they want to
give to the place that just changed and invented all names of the plates different. Making it very difficult to now what you are actually ordering.
The service was very bad! Slow and without any sort of training. Making the wait for each order very long.
All in all a great place to be with friends, family and especially on a date, but due to the poor service, the different taste just hoses away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TentacionesCafe, Propietario at Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Tentaciones Trattoria, it is an honor given that you have visited so many countries and cities and never wrote anything about any other place. Sucre is a great place to start right?
Well, I would like to let everyone know we invented many names in the menu because they are signature dishes, but pretty much very self explained in 2 languages. That is why we have a large menu, but never had a complain before about not being able to understand what the menu options are. We will work on that.
Service is sometimes slow because we make everything from scratch because we seek for quality, and our average service time ranges between 25 to 30 min.
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tentaciones Trattoria Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.