We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa AL Tronco

Save Saved
You added Casa AL Tronco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa AL Tronco
Topater 57, Sucre 21, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Sucre B&B and Inns
Manchester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a great budget accomodation. We stayed in a private room with ensuite bathroom. We had an amazing view of the beautiful Sucre and the room was extremely clean and very spacious. The shared kitchen had everything you needed and had a lovely balcony area to watch the sunset. You must stay here if visiting Sucre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A clean and comfortable room in a beautifully decorated property. Stunning views over Sucre from the upstairs terrace. A good kitchen for self-catering. Friendly and attentive staff. Only small drawback was having to go outside and downstairs to get to the shared bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in a beautifully decorated private room with private bathroom. Very clean! The owner was amazingly nice and helped us with any questions we had regarding Sucre etc. She helped us book a taxi to Potosi. There is a kitchen, terrace with great view where you can make breakfast. Overall, really great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Your home away from home. Excellent service, great view of the city and such friendly reception.We stayed a few days longer than planned, and didn't regret it. You can't go wrong with this one, so book ahead!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Three weeks in Sucre at Casa Al Tronco was not enough. Here was the one time in a year of traveling I felt at home. The Spanish architecture and impressive views from terraces on every level both morning and night, kept me constantly inspired. There are only a few rooms, and most guests seem to stay long term, so the environment is always cozy.
Everything stayed immaculately clean. The kitchen and balcony had me looking forward to dinner each night. The owners wife was fun and absolutely lovely, as were the dogs. The area is safe, and the proximity to the Ricoletta for coffee, italian pastries, and a book were a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and wished we could have stayed much longer. The rooms are spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated with Bolivian artworks. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathrooms spotless and plenty of hot water. We loved the location and the views from our room were superb. The hosts Ebo and Tania are welcoming like a family and have first hand knowledge of all around Sucre and travel tips for onward travel and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Although the breakfast is not included it is inexpensive and you have a wide choice. The home made muesli is the best we have ever eaten! and the coffee plentiful and really good. Free Wi Fi, library and music and lovely courtyard to relax in too. There is a kitchen if you want to cook and the kitchen has a million dollar view. Everything about this place is first class. Ebo even rose at 4am to welcome us when we arrived after a long overnight bus journey. There are some lovely restaurants nearby and its a pleasant walk down into the main square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there 3 nights and wanted to stay more but there were no rooms available. It is really charming place. After long journey around the world I felt in this place like at home. We had very nice, big room with private bathrooms. The place is decorated with artistic soul. But the most wonderful is kitchen and the view from balcony. It is ideal place to relax. Owners are also very friendly and helpful. I am usually not good sleeper but at Casa al Tranco I didn't have any problems with sleep (quite neighbourhood and very comfortable beds).

The only minor problem is that we don't have very hot water in our bathroom. It was warm, sometimes hot but if you like to have long hot showers it might be a problem.

Couple from Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa AL Tronco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa AL Tronco

Address: Topater 57, Sucre 21, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Casa Al TroncoIn our Riviera-style house, located in the ancient and tranquil center near the Recoleta square, just seven blocks from the main place passing through the nicest parts of the colonial city, with easy acces to charming and eucalyptus timbered calvarian Churuquella hill and its not rectangular narrow streets -- probably the most romantic zone of the “White City of America”---- We offer you a pleasant stay in comfortable, spacious and bright rooms served to a hotel standard, with private or shared baths,flowery patio, large sitting-room, an art collection and a fully equipped guest kitchen, with opens to a sunny bacony with spectacular views over the city. On arrival time we provide you with written infor- mation about the house, the district and Sucre. We, a Bolivian ¬– European family, can give you detailed and professional information about Sucre and Bolivia as well as tips for your continuing journey. Optional we can offer you an excellent breakfast. Check In : Anytime Check Out : 11:00 ( you are welcome to stay in the house until your oneward connection) Facilities:• Laundry service• Big selection of games and professional Dart board in the patio • Bolivian magazines and reviews, “ Le Monde Diplomatique”, “Der Spiegel” and books, among other things with bolivian reference• Dvd library in Tv lounge• Fully equipped guest kitchen with fridge and radio • Private Spanish and Quechua lessons in the house• Private Salsa dance course in the house• Motor-cycle parking in the house, private car parking near byWe look forward to welcoming you to: “ Your home away from home” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa AL Tronco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa AL Tronco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.