We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Sucre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa AL Tronco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa AL Tronco to your Saves list
Casa AL Tronco
Topater 57, Sucre 21, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Sucre B&B and Inns
Sucre, Bolivia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place to be in Sucre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

What a wonderful eagles nest this place was! My husband and I stayed for nearly 2 weeks in the end- we couldn´t leave!
We were greeted by a sunny sitting area every morning! The best place to do our Spanish homework in the afternoons..
Owners very friendly and helpful- helps that we were close to the Mirador cafe (only 2 minute walk)- the best food and views in Sucre- all meals we had (we had lots) were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed in Sucre for 2 nights while travelling through Bolivia, and booked one room at Casa al Tronco. It was one with shared bathroom, but it's only 2 rooms that share that bathroom, so no problems at all. Warm water in the shower, which is not always the case in Bolivia.

It's a small guesthouse with only a couple of rooms, but it's very friendly, clean, well run and modern. Being in Bolivia, it was a very high standard! Could have been in Europe.

It has some great views over the city, from the communal kitchen balcony.

The entrance looked a bit strange, but once you get into the court yard, everything changes. So don't be too put off when the taxi driver drop you off in front of Casa Al Tronco.

Highly recommended place, one of the best places we stayed at in Bolivia, and the value is unbeatable.

It gets cold in Sucre during the nights, but the place kept an OK temperature indoors, and you get plenty of blankets, and a real duna.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing. Not least for the stunning views from the immaculate kitchen which is a world away from the usual hostels you find yourself in. The only problem is you won't want to leave. Check out the Italian mirador cafe 5 mins away too - great food and proper coffee.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Casa Al Tronco is close to the Plaza de la Recoletta on a hill in Sucre! We had the suite which is their best room... with stunning views of Sucre, a big bed, heaps of space and an ensuite! The other rooms are nice enough, but this one will blow your mind! There is a very good equiped kitchen on top of the building which also offers amazing views! All in all there is only 7 beds in 4 rooms in this place which makes it very homey! Ebo and his wife Tania will do everything to make your stay amamzing! They also do serve breakfast: the muesli is lovely!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa AL Tronco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa AL Tronco

Address: Topater 57, Sucre 21, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Casa Al TroncoIn our Riviera-style house, located in the ancient and tranquil center near the Recoleta square, just seven blocks from the main place passing through the nicest parts of the colonial city, with easy acces to charming and eucalyptus timbered calvarian Churuquella hill and its not rectangular narrow streets -- probably the most romantic zone of the “White City of America”---- We offer you a pleasant stay in comfortable, spacious and bright rooms served to a hotel standard, with private or shared baths,flowery patio, large sitting-room, an art collection and a fully equipped guest kitchen, with opens to a sunny bacony with spectacular views over the city. On arrival time we provide you with written infor- mation about the house, the district and Sucre. We, a Bolivian ¬– European family, can give you detailed and professional information about Sucre and Bolivia as well as tips for your continuing journey. Optional we can offer you an excellent breakfast. Check In : Anytime Check Out : 11:00 ( you are welcome to stay in the house until your oneward connection) Facilities:• Laundry service• Big selection of games and professional Dart board in the patio • Bolivian magazines and reviews, “ Le Monde Diplomatique”, “Der Spiegel” and books, among other things with bolivian reference• Dvd library in Tv lounge• Fully equipped guest kitchen with fridge and radio • Private Spanish and Quechua lessons in the house• Private Salsa dance course in the house• Motor-cycle parking in the house, private car parking near byWe look forward to welcoming you to: “ Your home away from home” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa AL Tronco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa AL Tronco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.