We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem, a home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Verde B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Verde B&B to your Saves list
Casa Verde B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Potosi 374, Sucre 00000, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Sucre B&B and Inns
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, a home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We loved it here so much we stayed an extra 2 nights, so 5 nights in total. A huge comfy double bed, spacious room with seating area that opened onto a pretty courtyard. Good location, 10 min walk to centre of Sucre.

The breakfast was excellent, one of the best we've had in all of South America. Freshly squeezed orange juice - delicious - fresh fruit, different each day, homemade jam, freshly cooked eggs and bacon... All in a pleasant, light & airy dining room. Good facilities, a lovely homely kitchen, lounge area with DVDs, & computers, wifi - even in our room.

The service we received from Rene was outstanding, he speaks excellent English & is discreet yet friendly, welcoming and extremely knowledgable. he helped us with so many things - posting parcels back home to the UK (Rene - it arrived just over a week later, so quick!) how to get to Tarabuca market, phoning his contact to change our flight date (this cost us nothing because of Rene sorting it)...

This is a very unique and special place, a real home from home and we thoroughly recommend it and the wonderful Rene. Incredible value for money considering the comfort and service received.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks a lot for the nice comment. Beside that we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Verde so much and that you realy know how to appriciate our hopsitality. On behalf of our team many thanks. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
122
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer. The house has lots of character and Rene is a great host. It's is the best place we have stayed for the price, in 7 weeks of travelling in South America.

We really appreciated the attention to detail-- coat hooks, shelves, a common lounge, nice beds, bedside lamps -- are much appreciated

We almost gave Sucre a miss but so glad we didn't.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Very pleasant to read your comment. Ofcourse you pay for the services we are offering and these are no for free what sometimes people expect. If you respect people in Bolivien you will pay a fair price what you did. But beside the money we are so happy with your comment, showing us your appreciation for all the work we have done. Once more thanks a lot. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three weeks in Nov. 2013. Loved it. Great people both as travelers and staff. Excellent location and a nice walk from most things to see as well as eat. Staff was more than helpful, breakfast was great, rooms were nice. Nothing to complain about and will be back again. Bill-Portland, Oregon

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks a lot for your evaluation and your appreciation. This helps us a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The lodging here proved problematic for us. Our family of three needed a second bed, so the proprietor gave us a "suite" with a loft, which was expensive for accommodations in Sucre. The first such suite stunk to high heaven, so we changed to another. The second had a very poor layout ("Well beyond poor feng shui" according to my wife). It was spacious but the staircase ruined otherwise available space. The bathroom was cramped & also had a poor layout. We sometimes bumped our heads when using the toilet; the shower curtain couldn't completely close so the floor leaked when we showered; the sink leaked all the time so the floor puddled up every time we washed our hands or brushed our teeth. We asked that the sink be fixed and someone tried to fix it (judging from seeing our toiletries moved), but the sink still leaked with every use. We had to keep getting extra towels to mop it up and twice slipped on the wet floor. We used their laundry service - which was very affordable - but despite their promises to return it the previous day, it was returned to us only just in time for our air departure (which created anxiety) and our clothes were still damp when we got them. Finally, the lobby computers froze up and internet access was unreliable. The proprietor, Rene, was very nice, but he seemed to lack experience being able fixing things or have others fix them (e.g., plumbing and computers).

Room Tip: Carefully inspect the layout of the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
The shooting Stars (**) of Casa Verde B&B
This time we got a very bad report: 54/100 and a series of accusations. So in the ranking we came down from 98 to 97. It is particularly unfortunate that our dear guest has not enjoyed our hospitality while he was concentrated on substantive details. Now we have to face that not everyone is friendly with us. I hope that the next guests will push us up again to 98. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Casa Verde is a beautiful B&B with lovely common areas and rooms, a great location near but not on top of the main square and the best service I have ever received. The owner/operator, Rene´was very gracious and pointed us towards an excellent guide to head out into the surrounding campo. But what sets this B&B apart is what happened after I left. My travel partner and I left our luggage in the locked area and when the staff changed over our room, they found my iPhone and put it in my bag for me, then acted as if this were nothing. Really exceptional service, I can´t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment. If we can make people feeling happy, this makes us happy aswell. It was a pleasure to sirve you. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

located just 4 blocks from the city center, it is a good place where to rest after walking in the beautiful sucre: i don't have to complain nothing about this b&b, and it isn't expensive: suggested for sure

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per i commenti garbati. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed two nights here in early Dec.

Rene, the owner made this B&B feel like a home away from home. Warm, friendly and extremely helpful.

The place was very clean, rooms quiet and comfortable and breakfast was great! Location wise, it's a 5 min walk from the main square so it's very convenient. Lots of shops, restaurants, food stalls and convenience stores nearby too.

Highly recommended in Sucre!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene64sucre, Propietario at Casa Verde B&B, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Your positive comment motivate us to move forward. Thank you so much, many thanks for your help. A kritikaster like someone from a neighboring bores us into the ground. René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Verde B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde B&B

Address: Calle Potosi 374, Sucre 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Verde B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Casa Verde B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Verde B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.