We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Cecilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Cecilia to your Saves list
Santa Cecilia
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Calle Potosi 386 (Puerta de Garage), Sucre, Bolivia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Sucre B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hostal Santa Cecilia is three blocks from the historical center of 25 de Mayo Plaza.  Located right next door to the popular Casa Verde.  Very very good value.

I concur with most of the nice comments about the hostal and folks running the place.  Planned for 4 nights -- wound up with 11 nights.

The better features of the hostal are the central patio and an adequately stocked kitchen for in-house cooking if desired.

Hot water in my room (first level) is tepid with the odd electric shower head. Slower water pressure makes a warmer shower.  Continental breakfast.  WiFi signal is present but would be majorly improved with the installation of a repeater.  The signal is better in the mezzanine than anywhere.  But with rates roughly $12 a night, what could one say?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here after finding this place was listed on Wikitravel and was pleasantly surprised in how lovely the whole placed was kept. We were going to initially stay for 2-3 nights, but decided to sign up to a local language school (Sucre Spanish School) 2 blocks away from the B&B and ended up staying almost 6 weeks.

We were originally allocated a matrimonial room with a shared bathroom (which is only shared by 2 rooms, as the rest have private bathrooms) for about a week or so, until the owners moved us into another room with a private bathroom for the same price. Our room was cleaned almost everyday, including emptying of bins and cleaning of toilets, as well as change of bed sheets every third day.

The location is within a quieter area of the city, but only 3 blocks away from the principal plaza. It's a 10 minute walk to the supermarket, which has everything you need including a very decent cinema complex and 10 minutes the other direction to get to the open-air fresh produce market. It's ideal if you want somewhere peaceful, but not too far away to go out for a meal or drink. It's also 2-3 blocks down from the best mirador they have in town.

Now for the most important part of our review is the family who run this B&B. They live next door, so someone is always around, whether it's Oswaldo or Maria (the owners and the parents), the kids or the cleaner. They are the most inviting, kind and generous hosts we have come across during our travels of South America. We arrived a few days before Christmas and they invited us over their house to celebrate Christmas with drinks and food and showing us their customs and traditions of how they celebrate the day/evening. Once again we were invited over to their house to celebrate New Years, and on top of that they also took us to their summer house in Yotala (25 minutes outside Sucre) for a pre-New Year BBQ. We had the most amazing time whenever we celebrated any occasion with the family, they were always so hospitable and treated us like dear friends. We also made some great friends who stayed in the same place and one of them happened to have had their birthday during their stay in Sucre and when Oswaldo and Maria found out, they made a big fuss about it and invited them over to their house to celebrate.

The only criticism we can give is the breakfast is very basic, jam, bread, tea and coffee. However, we complimented our breakfast by buying our own cereal and some eggs.

If we were to come back, this is the only place we would stay because of how lovely the place is and how the family treat their guests.

Room Tip: The wi-fi works best in the room that's attached to the house (upstairs). There are some rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September 2012. After a rather aweful previous night in La Paz, this was heaven, and heaven for a very good price too! The owners are very friendly, once in a while came over for a chat or to give us some hints on good restaurants and places.
The double room with ensuite bathroom was perfect. Very spaceous, good beds, shower with hot water. While we were there, the water was turned off in the whole region for half a day, but the owners had prepared for this and there was plenty of water available they had filled into barrels before the shut-down. Organization!
Breakfast is basic but good, and the kitchen offers all you might need to cook yourself a good meal. The supermarket we went to was about 15 minutes walking distance.
The location of Santa Cecilia BB is perfect, very close to the main square and yet located in a calmer region. Our room was facing the street. While this was not disturbing, people with a light sleep might want to choose one of the rooms in the courtyard to avoid noise from passing cars.
Wifi only worked in the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazca, Peru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The owners are not Bolivian, I think they are Argentinian, Chilean or Spanish because they speak too fast spanish for a Bolivian of Peruvian couple and don`t look like them either. Furthermore they were far more (guest)friendly and outgoing than Bolivian people. The woman showed us the hostal and she and her husband told everything about Sucre and more. After telling us everything she even gave us a welcome kiss, so sweet! Double room was really nice, big and clean with an own bathroom for just 140 Bolivianos! And the hotel was just 5 min. walk from the main plaza, in a quiet street. Definately recommend it to everyone who wants to go to Sucre!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Santa Cecelia is a small B&B in a quiet street, but still close to the city centre of Sucre. We liked our spacious room with kingsize bed, private bathroom (hot water) and tv. The owners are very friendly, but almost never around. Breakfast in the B&B is simple: coffee, bread with jam&butter and a milky drink. We made ourself lunch and dinner in the great common kitchen which everyone can use. Supermarket is nearby and good for Bolivian standards.
Great place for a good price. Only disadvantage is the lack of good wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ok, this is by far the best sleep i had in all South America. 80 Bolivians for single room with private bathroom. Very comfortable bed, everything is so clean and nice. Room include TV, table, chair, and enough space to move.There is hot water in the shower with good pressure. Breakfast is basic bread and jam, but you could buy some eggs and use the kitchen to cook anything extra for yourself. The kitchen has tools for guests use. Location is four blocks from the main plaza. Can be very quite after 10 pm, so better return with people. The owners are not around most of time, so if you need anything make sure to ask when you check in. There is no computer for guest use, but there is wi-fi. The owner let me stay until 8pm the day I had checked- out and didn't charge me for this extra time which was very nice gesture. I loved the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked into this B&B after one night at the Casa Verde next door (we'd only booked one night and it was subsequently full). Despite cosmetically not being on a par with Casa Verde I would definitely recommend Santa Cecilia over its neighbour. Our room was clean and well appointed, the bathroom decent with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was adequate. However the wifi was very hit and miss, which can be a problem when trying to plan a trip. However the owners were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful in advising on things to do and onward transport. When I fell ill overnight, we were able to keep the room all of the following day free of charge before getting our bus to Tupiza. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cecilia

Address: Calle Potosi 386 (Puerta de Garage), Sucre, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Cecilia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.