We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service helpful but we were not lucky with the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique La Posada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boutique La Posada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boutique La Posada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Audiencia 92, Sucre, Bolivia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Sucre
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service helpful but we were not lucky with the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Considering the room only, we were not happy, Florin (pub) was the noisy neighbour on Friday and Saturday night. Mattress was not good to say the least, management need to take a look on them (not balanced, quite tough). Rooms are darker though, a trade off for an old and stylish building, I think.
However, this have to balanced by the good sides.1) service was very helpful when needed, the guys at breakfast or lunch helped us a lot with our little boy.
2) prime location! Laundry was just in front, key attractions were few blocks.

Room Tip: We had a terrible Fri and Sat sleep due the noisy Florin, which is just in that corner. We were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For Bolivia, this is a rather expensive hotel and I had high expectations, as the buildings are charming. Unfortunately, my expectations were dashed by the poor quality of service and poor maintenance of the establishment. First, the in room Internet was not working and I was told that the technical support person was not working that day. I was away for several days and when I returned the in room Internet was still not working and I had to use the hole they call their business center. What a joke!. As a result of my travels, I was in two different rooms and both had poor maintenance and care. In one, the bathroom door would not close, due to warpage and in the other the bedside clock and lamp were both non-functional. Further, when I wanted to pay with a credit card, their card scanner had problems and they forced my to pay with another card and that added an extra 5% to the already high bill. The restaurant and breakfast were both good and the food service staff are well trained. If only the hotel staff were as well trained the high cost of this hotel might be justified. I will look for another location in Sucre in the future.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room that is high and away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Lonely Planet called La Posada "well worth the splurge". Well, for no more than $80 for our group for one night, I would hardly call this a splurge! But it was absolutely worth it. An oasis of calm and beauty in a lovely town, La Posada took our unexpected and late arrival in stride. With the most basic of spanish, they arranged a late check out for us due to one of our group being ill. They didn't charge us any extra for this.
The double room (one double bed, one single) was small but very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spotless. The restaurant on site was delicious too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay in Sucre. The location is excellent, only half a block from Plaza 25 May, the main square. It's also close to a couple of good, gringo-friendly cafe/bars, Florin and Joy Ride Cafe. The hotel is peaceful, with a lovely courtyard and relaxing ambience. The room was good but perhaps not four star - we had a to ask for a second towel and there was a bit of a gap under the door (luckily we were staying in summer so it didn't matter). Service is friendly but brush up on your Spanish as the front desk staff (except one lady) don't really speak any English! Wifi is free and very strong. Overall I would recommend La Posada.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We overstayed at the La Posada due to a stuff up with our bank in Australia and a courier company, a very long story and a very long wait. If you have to wait somewhere, Sucre is a nice town, very sedate and comfortable. And the Hotel La Posada is THE BEST place to stay. The staff are lovely, friendly, helpful - even making numerous pone calls for me to track down the couriers. The breakfast is good, but it´s the beds and showers that really make the place - beds are comfy and the showers are HOT with excellent pressure and fluffy towels! The rooms are clean and airy. There´s also lovely hang-out areas in the courtyard and a great restaurant onsite. Couldn´t fault the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located 1/2 block from main square with friendly and courteous staff (I don't know what quinn88 got up to??). Based on a colonial style house with 3 courtyards it is a peaceful haven apart from some scraping of furniture and clip clop of stilettos on the tiled floors.
Breakfast is good and the restaurant serves very good meals. We stayed here for 4 nights in October and were very happy.
This hotel deserves it's good reviews!! Some people are maybe a little too " picky"!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in August and had a excellent experience. Great location, just off the square; an oasis of calm after Potosi and Uyuni. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, good breakfast buffet-- sorry to hear of quin88's experience as we had very helpful staff. We also did not have a full complement of towels--but they brought extras unasked and promptly. When we had to stay an extra day b/c our flight to La Paz had been cancelled, the front desk staff helped us get into touch with the other airlines in town directly. Lonely Planet calls it "well worth the splurge" and while it is only a splurge in Bolivian terms, it was certainly well worth it.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms had thin doors between them and noise could easily be heard between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Boutique La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique La Posada

Address: Calle Audiencia 92, Sucre, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique La Posada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boutique La Posada is an old remodeled house in detail to give comfort and tranquility in every room. Personalized service. It is located in the historic center of Sucre 10 minutes from the airport and bus terminal. We have a first class restaurant with lunch and dinner menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boutique La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique La Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.