We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi

Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi to your Saves list
Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi
Calle Manuel Maria Urcullo 233, Sucre, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Located very centrally with a pretty relaxed vibe. Staff were extremely accommodating allowing us to check in a at 5am. Kitchen facilities are very small and hard to cook with other guests, it gets crowded at lunch and dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
3
34
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Really great hostel. Great breakfast! Good size and very tasty. Private room was a good size with great bathroom attached. Shower was especially good...no electric shocks here! Gas powered showers. Communal space wth TV. Huge book exchange and very helpful staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent the first two nights in Sucre in this friendly guesthouse. The staff do their best and the hostel is cheap. However, our friends in another room did not even have a bed under their mattress. Maybe we are getting too old, but, in spite of its good vibes, we decided to move on to a cleaner and more expensive place. We can understand that some people like Wasi Masi as it is fairly well-located. It was just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Twe stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel is ok, very nice stuff. However it gets very noisy once their kids come back from school around 1600. Thats when the bar opens too and they start playing loud loud heavy metal from hell. It drove me nuts. I asked them to stop but they didnt change the music..... otherwise i would have liked this place

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is well situated close to the main city square. The staff is nice and helpful, the breakfast is ok and the showers are hot. However the owner Roxana invests little of her time and seems to be indifferent about her own hostel. It's a shame since it seems to be what is missing at this address.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the get go, we were treated very well by staff. We were given breakfast for free on the day we arrived after an overnight bus ride, which was sensational. Breakfast is great with bread, coffee, fruit and pancakes or an egg. We were also shown around the hostel and shown a map of the area on arrival. The hostel is close to everything you need in sucre.

We paid 70bs per person per night for a double room with private bathroom.

There is a kitchen, tv room with plenty of dvds, three different Wifi services to cover everywhere in the hostel, MASSIVE book exchange, courtyard, bar, great laundry service, daily room cleaning and towels included!! What more do you need?!

The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The shower is warm most of the time, but hot in the early afternoon when people are out and about. The staff always told us to alert them if there were problems with the hot water which was great, but we didn't have any problems.

We had no issues here and found the staff super friendly. Plus there is a really cute dog. Enjoy!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The owner is the meanest person I have met in a very long time. I stayed there for 14 days while taking a daily 8:30am Spanish class, and in that time I ate breakfast 4 times because the staff do not show up until 8:10am to start making it so I never had time to eat there. After finding out that those who show up very late to breakfast get pancakes in addition to the usual dry bread and bad coffee, I got fed up and tried to check-out after my spanish class. The owner originally wanted me to pay for one more night because I had missed the check-out time, but once she realized that I had been there for 14 nights she said that if I had stayed one more night (15 total), then I would have gotten 10% off my entire stay, so it worked out better for her to charge me for 14 nights rather than give me the discount. After several more extremely rude comments, I couldn't handle talking to her anymore, and I dropped my money (which I had pre-counted) on the table and walked out.

She then proceeded to chase me down the street demanding more money than what I actually owed (I was 30 pesos off but she wanted 60), and when I refused to pay her 60 pesos, she grabbed one of my bags from my hands to hold it ransom until I paid, and she threatened to call the cops. Meanwhile, her punk son was behind her filming the whole thing with a cell phone. I ripped my bag back from her, completely lost my cool, and told both of them off. After following me for a couple more blocks, she finally accepted the 30 pesos before leaving me alone.

An experience that extreme usually won't happen if you don't complain about anything. But everyone will get to have the convenience of their reservation getting mixed up or lost, the joy of the dog "Balu" barking excessively at all hours of the night for no reason without the staff doing anything to hush him up, scrumptious dry bread, rotten bananas, and clumpy coffee late in the morning, and the exotic hollering and battering of the staff back and forth across the courtyard all day.

To their credit, I originally stayed for so long because it is a good location, they have large secure lockers and good wifi, the place is clean and fairly secure, most of the other staff are very nice, and I met a lot of cool people there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi

Address: Calle Manuel Maria Urcullo 233, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Huespedes Wasi Masi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.