We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sucre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Anciento Arce 61, Town Center, Sucre, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sucre
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely building, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is located in a lovely building with a beautiful courtyard and is in a very central location. Breakfast is not included but it is still very good value. I did not experience any problems with theft unlike some of the other reviewers.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arequipa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for two nights just last week. It is a perfect location, the price is reasonable, and the courtyard truly lovely. We did not experience any problems with theft; however, we never use the hotel safe to secure our belongings.

There were two major faults with this hotel. As mentioned by another reviewer, the room was extremely damp - and while there was hot water, adjusting it was tricky and I struggled with it - either it was freezing cold or very, very hot. For this reason I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

quite surprised to see all these messages about theft from the rooms. We did not have anything stolen, but then we are always careful : we did not leave anything at the hotel desk, locked our rucksack and daypack (when we left it in the room) with a padlock as we always do. So we did not notice any of the problems other people are talking about.

On the contrary, until I read all these negative comments, I considered this to be one of the best hotels of our trip and there should be no reason to change my mind. The hotel is pleasantly built around a courtyard, the rooms are tastefully decorated (rather than the standard drab white), our room was spacious (a double + single bed as well as a corner with a table and chairs) and clean, the personnel was very helpful and friendly and the price was a mere 16 EUR.

If there are any negative points I would say :
- bathroom without ventilation (as in many South American hotels), so you need to keep its door and the room window open)
- breakfast is not included and the one they do serve is not worth it (but there are several good places for breakfast on the nearby plaza).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,062 reviews 2,062 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,092 helpful votes 1,092 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

First, we had a good experience with this hotel, the room was spacious and eventhough breakfast was not included we felt that it was decent value BUT there are serious problems in this hotel that make us not recommend it.
We were hapily visiting Sucre after leaving off our bags in the hotel, when we saw at the tourist office a complaint by what appeared to be a Bolivian lawyer about this hotel. He described in great detail how his labtop was robbed from the hotel, and that when in the police station, the staff accused the son of the owner of taking things from customers' rooms . We did not know what to think about this so we tried to be as careful as possible though we were kind of in disbelief how such a thing could happen. The next morning we were at the internet room that clearly states that no smoking is allowed and a girl was there smoking. We kindly asked her if she could stop and she not only refused to, but also claimed she was the daughter of the owner and thus could do whatever she wanted. Maybe the son thinks the same about the guests' possessions...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The courtyard is pretty and the rooms rather comfy BUT:
- I did not have any hot water, which is unacceptable given the hotel prices (even the most basic hostals in Sucre had wArm water)
- breakfast is not included and is ok, but not much for the price
- I also wondered whether money had been stolen from the cash deposit I made in the staff - as I am not 100% sure I shall not make accusations but reading other reviews I am not reassured
Conclusion: there are better places in Sucre. It did not stay at Hostal Sucre but for a similar price it appears to give better value.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I have to say that i really liked this hotel, but......
First of all. The staff were incredibly friendly, the computers with free internet always worked when i was there, and my room and the shower were clean and good. Even comfortable and cosy i would say. The breakfast was fine, breakfast is not a big deal in Bolivia, but i just had some toast and eggs, and it came with a fruit shake and some coffee and was good enough for me.

But after reading the other review, I wanted to add mine because the following happened to me... I also put my passport & money in the safe. And i also counted it, and even wrote down for them on a piece paper what was exactly in it. And right before i left i got my moneybelt back. And 100 bolivianos was missing from it! Because that is only 10 euros, and i was in a hurry to catch the bus, i left it at that. But i felt very strange about the whole thing.....(the recepcionist said i must a have counted wrong when i put in there, but i am convinced i did not ofcourse). Especially because they seemed so carefull about the whole thing (writing it down, ductaping my moneybelt before they put it in the safe etc.)...
The hotel is at a perfect location though and has a beautifull courtyard, so make up your own mind...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Don't go there - you might think that you save some money as the rooms are ok-priced. But the reception staff are tricksters - they stole money from us which we had put in the safe at the reception before giving it back to us, pretending to help us counting it. Unfortunately, we realised it too late to be able to do anything about it. But we want to warn everybody: it's just not worth it. True, it is centrally located but so are other hotels. And the rooms around the pretty patio are not as pretty as one might expect, rather dark. Breakfast is ok but else the food in the restaurant is dismal, and the staff is completely useless. No service at all. The free internet service works only during the week and then only at certain hours. Should you stil want to go there: beware of thieves and the staff!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Anciento Arce 61, Town Center, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sucre
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.