We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-Week Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   340 M-40 South, Allegan, MI 49010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $50 Per Night
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Mid-Week Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have never stayed anywhere where I felt so at home. The customer service was excellent. Someone was always available if you had a question or needed assistance yet unobtrusive. The food was amazing. Completely exceeded my expectations! I will definitley look for another B & B in the Select Registry instead of staying at a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
157
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

First, just let me say, my husband and i have never stayed at a B&B before and Castle in the Country is by far better than any resort we have stayed or any other B&B we have ever heard of. Rooms are beautiful, service and food wonderful. The side by side massages were one of the best I had ever had and it was my husbands first massage and he wishes he could get one everyday!!! Way exceeded our expectations and we will be visiting again. Very peaceful and romantic!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Castle in the Country was amazing! We got a deal through Living Social for two nights, and we upgraded to the Crowning Suite, which was lovely. [It is at the top of the main house, and it faces the backyard (away from the road)]

Everything about our stay was wonderful. Check in was easy, and the receptionist was very helpful with suggestions for dinner and things to do around the area. We got to the room, and it was enchanting! (I posted a few pictures) Perfectly cozy for two with style. For our first night, we stayed in and enjoyed the room and the whirlpool tub with a movie and pizza from The Grill House - which was delicious!! Also, I must say that the movie collection was awesome for our tastes - we watched The Life Aquatic - and the other movies were all pretty recent or just great films.

The rest of the B&B was wonderful as well - it's a gorgeous building with a wonderful property. We took a hike through the trails, which were easy and very pretty. The breakfasts were also incredible - pumpkin pancakes with bacon, fresh fruit and fresh baked scones. Soooooo delicious!

All in all our stay was perfect - the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, and Ruth helped us feel right at home. She genuinely showed interest in what we had planned for our stay and wanted all the guests to have the best experience and to make sure we weren't missing out on anything in the area.

Tips for things to do in the area -
We went a few places while we were there, including checking out the town of Allegan, Holland, and Fennville.
Holland is very quaint and has some shopping and a really nice brewery - New Holland Brewing Co - and if you like beer definitely go there! It's about a 40 minute drive, but much nicer than Kalamazoo or GR (in our opinion)
For dinner, we opted to go to the Salt of the Earth in Fennville, which was incredible. Definitely go there if you want a nice sit down dinner - all fresh local food with a great drink menu.

Room Tip: The Castle is a typical old farmhouse that is right on the road, but very romantic with charming roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the castle. This was our 21rst wedding anniversary. We have loved every time we have ever stayed there. It is a very beautiful place. My husband and I looked so forward to staying there this year as it has been a hard year with both of us dealing with health issues and many other things. It was the perfect place to "heal our wounds" so to speak. We stayed in the romeo and juliet suite this time and we've also stayed in the king arthur suite before. Each room has its own unique features but no matter which room you stay in I can't see how you wouldn't be comfortable. Ruth and Herb are very good innkeepers and Christine and the rest of the staff were also very helpful. All very hospitable and very helpful if you need anything. The food, well we can't say enough about that. Every breakfast was wonderful and we looked forward to it every morning. There is alot to do in the surrounding areas, and many fine places to dine like the salt of the earth and one of our favorites the london grill. Also the M-89 cinema is the best. It's just a little theatre but it's top notch and you can't beat the prices. For 2 tickets a popcorn and a pop it was only $11.50, and that was for a new released movie. Can't beat it. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. It gave us the quiet time we needed with each other and we are sure it would do this for others as well. We will definitely be back to the castle as soon as we can. Thanks Ruth, Herb and staff

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in the Crowning Suite and splurged on couple's massages. The jacuzzi tub worked perfectly. The fireplace added just the right amount of warmth to the room. I can't remember the last time I was so relaxed. Of course, as all other reviews state, very clean rooms, very nice people, excellent breakfast, etc. What makes this B&B unique is the huge property it's located on. Great for exploring in the woods or chillin' by the lake. I know I'll visit other B&B's in the future, but it's the property that really makes me want to re-visit Castle in the Country. Overall, my reaction was "Aaaaah, I want to live here."

Room Tip: I loved the Crowning Suite but it's on the 3rd floor (probably finished attic) so the only view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The castle is beautiful! We stayed in the Royal Suite, which is located in the front building, closest to the road. There was quite a bit of traffic noise, being so close to the road, but it didn't bother our sleep at all. The sheets are the softest sheets I have ever felt, as were the bath robes! The jacuzzi tub was wonderful and there was plenty of hot water. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. There is a small fridge in the common area where we were able to put our leftovers from dinner at the Grill House and have them for lunch the next day. They even had plates and plastic wear for our use. They were out of forks, so we were going to make do with the spoons they have out for coffee when an employee arrived and asked us if we needed anything, so she went and got us real forks. The dinner at the Inn was made up in an insulated picnic basket, complete with everything you needed, so we chose to take it back to our room and have dinner there. With the love seats and small table in the room, this was very enjoyable. We just returned the picnic basket the next morning at breakfast. The food was fairly good, although we thought the food at the Grill House was even better! We opted for ordering off of the pub menu as opposed to grilling ourselves, which not only made dinner substantially less expensive, but we also didn't have to cook for ourselves!

The inn was secluded and quiet, and we barely saw anyone except at breakfast on our last day. My only wish would have been for warmer weather so we could have taken advantage of more outdoor activities on the grounds, of which there are plenty!

I highly recommend this for a very romantic getaway and we hope to go back sometime in warmer weather.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wacousta, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Castle in the Country and it was such a wonderful escape. Lovely rooms, incredible food and every need was anticipated. We were in the King Arthur suite and it was quiet, romantic and lovely. We enjoyed the Royal Treatment package which included couples massages, meal voucher, in room breakfastrand a picnic basket. Ruth and Herb are the consummate innkeepers. We will return without hesitation!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 340 M-40 South, Allegan, MI 49010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck or romantic Allegan hotels, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.