We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food and strange ambience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill House

The Grill House
1071 32nd St. (M-40 South), Allegan, MI 49010
269-686-9192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Allegan
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and strange ambience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was recommended by our B&B host. we noted nothing else was open. The restaurant feels like a pizza parlor - not as warm and inviting on the inside as it appears on the outside. The food was mediocre. The salad was made with iceberg lettuce, which is always a disappointment, and after requesting olive oil and vinegar for dressing, I received oil and apple cider(?) vinegar in sticky bottles. After using them, I had to get up and wash my hands. After getting my meal, I added salt and pepper and both shakers were sticky. Got up again to wash my hands. The best thing about the evening was they had good beer choices and the waitress, Molly, was a delight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Steaks in a Remote Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When in Allegan (why are you there?) make certain to go south of town and find this gem. Great little bar in the basement, but the real fun is dining outside on their glider-tables. And...if you want, you can grill your own beef.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good times...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have always liked the food, the servers have been attentive,and it is a great place to meet up with friends & family. I espeically enjoy the outside dining in the warmer weather.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We tried the grill your own steak. Not enough seasoning options and sides were kind of dismal. For the price of the meal, I would say go the extra miles for a different restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A summertime cookout without the fuss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Sit outside at your own covered 6 person rocker table and let the children play as you unwind with an adult beverage and wait for your turn on the massive grill island. All choice meats, tuna steaks, portabella mushroom, and grill seasonings await your culinary grill skills. You even grill your own garlic toast. Add in the baked potato bar, salad bar, and baked beans and no one leaves without letting the belt buckle out a notch. Sit back and watch the clouds cross over the barn and listen for the sheep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill House also viewed

Allegan, Allegan County
Allegan, Allegan County
 
Allegan, Allegan County
Fennville, Allegan County
 

Been to The Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.