We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pool view EVER.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neruda Mar Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Neruda Mar Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Neruda Mar Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Borgono | Renaca, Vina del Mar 16180, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pool view EVER.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel has a seriously weird design, you get 3 buildings, each one has an elevator. There is parking space, and you get breakfast in your room, the breakfast is somewhat basic, but good enough to start the day.

There is a pool on the 3rd building, which has an amazing view to the beach, you can just stay there every single night of a week, watching the sunset, which is what I did. It's just beautiful, you can see the seaguls flying around, just amazing.

The rooms have good cable TV, you get WiFi in the top floor of the second building.

The rooms are not that good, with beds that are just average. However, the rooms are quite clean, the outside of the rooms, not so much.

I think it is pretty good for the value, specially if you go to the pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
43
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our trip didn't start well as our cab driver overcharged us however the hotel staff were so sympathetic and apologetic. They gave us the choice of 2 rooms and we ended up in the front building in a corner unit that was very large and bright with a big patio. The property is dated and could use with some freshening up of paint and furniture. We liked the location as it was out of town a bit and an had an unimpeded view of the sea lions on the rocks across the street. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice pool on the top deck.

Room Tip: Try for the front building on a higher floor so you can maximize the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and had a one bedroom suite with a balcony looking out on the ocean. We had good binoculars and spent hours watching the wildlife on the rocks - a couple dozen big seals going in and out of the water, barking and bluffing at one another - very entertaining (although they can smell when the wind shifts). Lots of sea birds including big pelicans, and one day, to our delight, two pairs of penguins hopped out of the water onto the rock. We probably wouldn't have seen them without the binoculars. The rocky beach across the road is not public - it's a research area owned by the university. We had a rental car so didn't mind driving a bit to a sandy beach, and in to town. We enjoyed having a kitchenette but be sure and buy groceries; the "breakfast" is white bread and instant coffee. The service was pretty indiferent but the room clean and the location worth it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is located just 3 miles outside of Vina del Mar. Great location if you want a peaceful location out of the hustle and bustle of the beach crowd, but great restaurants and bars are within walking distance. The hotel does show wear and tear as it is right on the beach, but the views from the balconies and roof top pool/hot tub are too beautiful to pass on. Our room was clean and spacious 3 bedroom suite. The elevator is slow and there is only one, so if you mind walking up 6 flights of stairs this hotel might not be for you. We drove here with a rental car so having parking available under the hotel was great. Staff was very accomodating and helpful. would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place was OK, I guess. The location was fabulous, right across from the beach, and our deck was over looking the water. Our room had two bredrooms so would of been good if a family was staying there. The building its self was old and dirty. If you would go in a time machine back in the 80's and came back I bet this hotel would of looked the same. The pool was not nice either, we never went in. They also don't have internet. I think they are over priced for what the hotel was and what they offered but there is also no other hotels in that location and it was a really good location. If you want a hotel that is right across from the beach and don't care about how it looks or that they are over charging, this place is perfect. I would stay here again but only b/c of the location. OH Yeah and the elevators suck, and there is no AC.

Room Tip: Wear sun block!!, It does not feel like you are burning or that it is that hot out side, but it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I've stayed here in January 2012 and all in all, it was great!
The apartment was located on the first floor, and it was quite silent. Even though it didn't include breakfast, in the afternoon the would give as a complimentary breakfast basket (bread, jam, butter, coffee, sugar) to prepare in the morning. It was great because we would get up at the time we wanted to, not depending on a timetable to have breakfast.
The pool area was great, and in addition to it they had a dry sauna and a jacuzzi. The only problem was the elevator. It wasn't working (it didn't work during our entire stay) and we had to go up 7 floors by stairs to get there. I didn't mind, but there were kids, and older people who were complaining aboout it.
The recepcionists were very friendly and helpful. And the maids as well, the rooms were simple but very clean, and you had almost everything you needed.
The location is quite nice, it's not Viña del Mar per se, it is located next to Reñaca, the area is known as Cochoa. Just meters from there you have a small grosery store to buy water, coffee and almost everything you need for the apartment. You also have some restaurants and take aways. Keep in mind they don't offer any kind of food service, so if you arrive late at night, try to buy something on the way, because you'll find everthing closed.
It close to Reñaca center, you can walk there, it's 15 minuted away, but if not, you can take the bus that stops right at the entrance of the hotel.
I would go back in a heart beat, it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. Simply furbished but clean with all the necessary in kitchen and bathroom. Situated right on the coast (the road is between the sea so) with stunning views of Valparaiso especially at night.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Did not use any of the facilities offered (Gym, swimming pool, sauna) so can't comment on them !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neruda Mar Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neruda Mar Suite Hotel

Address: Avda Borgono | Renaca, Vina del Mar 16180, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Neruda Mar Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Neruda Mar Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Mar Hotel Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neruda Mar Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.