We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, breathtaking location, terrific restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceanic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Oceanic to your Saves list
Hotel Oceanic
Avenida Borgono 12925, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, breathtaking location, terrific restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Small hotel hugging the cliffs on the outskirts of town. Pros: great staff, breathtaking views, accessible location, terrific restaurant, private balconies, ocean-side terrace/patio/pool. Cons: the sound of the wild surf will drive you crazy after the first night and if that doesn't do it the disco down the beach will. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
38
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen WIlliams ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at the Oceanic on a Sunday night with the kids and they suggested the double room with 2 reasonable rooms in the attic but one medium window to the ocean but 2 large noisy windows to the street. Way to noisy and brutally worse at night. I guess buyer beware. There was a disco going on at the next building down the water and we listened to it and it's visitors until 4 in the morning. The hotel claimed they had no idea this was going to happen, which was obviously a lie. There was too many cars to make this a one time happening. My advice is to find a quieter hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We originally planned just two nights at the Oceanic, with a scheduled tour with Michael the German Pirate of Valparaiso. On Friday night, after a great Valpo tour, and two nice days above the pacific surf, we were thrown out of bed by the earthquake. We lived through two terrifying minutes, a 7.3 quake there in Vina. The hotel, and the whole area, lost power, and many people stayed up afte 3:33am. At 10:00am the next morning, power was restored, we ate a nice breakfast, and optimistically went ahead with our plans to go south to Santa Cruz. (Below from an earlier email we sent to family)

Well, we went back to the Hotel Oceanic in Vina Del Mar. In retrospect, we were really optimistic to drive south to Santa Cruz only hours after the quake. Major roads are closed, bridges are down, and road ways torn up. After a winding ride, including down dirt roads through the countryside, we arrived at Santa Cruz last night to find a town with some (10%) collapsed buildings, no power, and no water. They had experienced an 8.5+, and continued to have severe aftershocks while we were there (in the range of 5 to 7 on the scale). We bought fruit and melons for dinner, washed down with Chilean wine. While our little hotel was open, it had some damage, and we ended up sleeping in our car's front seats.

A British couple had experienced the earthquake there, and were a bit in shock. They were really happy when we showed up, and we led them back to Santago this morning on our way back here. The Chileans are coping quickly, but travel further south then we went is just about impossible.

In Vina Del Mar, there is power and water, and we can have our room with a balcony over the breaking waves for as long as we want. The Oceanic staff and manager have given us every help and couresty. This beautful little hotel above the breaking waves will stay in memories forever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Poor staff, overpriced restaurant, pool of cold water, unconfortable rooms, noisy nightclub nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I spent last week 3 days at the hotel, just to find out that members of the staff are a bunch of thieves. When I went down to the restaurant for breakfast, in those exact 20 minutes someone came into my room and opened my bags and took $300 in cash. When i ask to speak to the manager, the receptionist called him and he was rude, unapologetic and basically said that he couldn't do anything about it. My Chilean partners are trying to solve the situation with the owner, but we havent receive anything positive so far. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND ITS CREW OF THIEVES!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Spent five days at this great hotel during a business trip in March 2009. Would recommend this friendly and clean hotel. The service is great and the food was very good and kept me coming back. Good atmosphere.

The rooms are very clean and the atmosphere was safe and relaxing. (Wish there was a hot tub, but you can't have everything).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

As everyone has already written, this hotel is located in a stunning setting overlooking the ocean. We fell asleep every night to the sound of crashing waves. The price was very reasonable, and a full breakfast is included. If we had it to do again, we would've spent our entire three days/nights just hanging around in the hotel. The nearby town of Renaca was packed with people and jostling crowds. It's about a 20 minute walk along a busy street going up the coast, and the noise and crowds ruined the nice and serene feeling I'd had while in the hotel. They do offer a nice dinner at a fair price, so you really don't have to go anywhere else if you just want to relax.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oceanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanic

Address: Avenida Borgono 12925, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceanic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.