We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pick in a south american best cities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceanic

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oceanic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oceanic
Avenida Borgono 12925, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Vina del Mar
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great pick in a south american best cities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay at this hotel in one of my trips to Chile, i loved this hotel is small, but here you will have a taste of a real Chilean hotel, I agree that the more expensive rooms are the best pick. Pick one with sea view...no regrets, the view will value your money, you pay more but you make your trip more enjoybable and you will bring home good memories, so it is worth. The hotel has great breakfast, TERRIFIC VIEW FROM ocean-side terrace/patio/pool!!!! It is close to Renaca, great place with nice beaches. The hotel has a great view to the ocean, the pacific, many waves , rocks..wow! I enjoy this hotel and had a great time. Please i saw some bad reviews but keep in mind, Vina del mar if you go in january and February it is packed, noise,chileans love to go out around 11 pm, so no place will be quiet..if you want peace no noise, please arrange your trip in another season, avoid FEBRUARY.The hotel has caracther and I love it!

Room Tip: To enjoy your stay pick the ocean view rooms, if not available, I do not recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Small hotel hugging the cliffs on the outskirts of town. Pros: great staff, breathtaking views, accessible location, terrific restaurant, private balconies, ocean-side terrace/patio/pool. Cons: the sound of the wild surf will drive you crazy after the first night and if that doesn't do it the disco down the beach will. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen WIlliams ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at the Oceanic on a Sunday night with the kids and they suggested the double room with 2 reasonable rooms in the attic but one medium window to the ocean but 2 large noisy windows to the street. Way to noisy and brutally worse at night. I guess buyer beware. There was a disco going on at the next building down the water and we listened to it and it's visitors until 4 in the morning. The hotel claimed they had no idea this was going to happen, which was obviously a lie. There was too many cars to make this a one time happening. My advice is to find a quieter hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We originally planned just two nights at the Oceanic, with a scheduled tour with Michael the German Pirate of Valparaiso. On Friday night, after a great Valpo tour, and two nice days above the pacific surf, we were thrown out of bed by the earthquake. We lived through two terrifying minutes, a 7.3 quake there in Vina. The hotel, and the whole area, lost power, and many people stayed up afte 3:33am. At 10:00am the next morning, power was restored, we ate a nice breakfast, and optimistically went ahead with our plans to go south to Santa Cruz. (Below from an earlier email we sent to family)

Well, we went back to the Hotel Oceanic in Vina Del Mar. In retrospect, we were really optimistic to drive south to Santa Cruz only hours after the quake. Major roads are closed, bridges are down, and road ways torn up. After a winding ride, including down dirt roads through the countryside, we arrived at Santa Cruz last night to find a town with some (10%) collapsed buildings, no power, and no water. They had experienced an 8.5+, and continued to have severe aftershocks while we were there (in the range of 5 to 7 on the scale). We bought fruit and melons for dinner, washed down with Chilean wine. While our little hotel was open, it had some damage, and we ended up sleeping in our car's front seats.

A British couple had experienced the earthquake there, and were a bit in shock. They were really happy when we showed up, and we led them back to Santago this morning on our way back here. The Chileans are coping quickly, but travel further south then we went is just about impossible.

In Vina Del Mar, there is power and water, and we can have our room with a balcony over the breaking waves for as long as we want. The Oceanic staff and manager have given us every help and couresty. This beautful little hotel above the breaking waves will stay in memories forever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Poor staff, overpriced restaurant, pool of cold water, unconfortable rooms, noisy nightclub nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I spent last week 3 days at the hotel, just to find out that members of the staff are a bunch of thieves. When I went down to the restaurant for breakfast, in those exact 20 minutes someone came into my room and opened my bags and took $300 in cash. When i ask to speak to the manager, the receptionist called him and he was rude, unapologetic and basically said that he couldn't do anything about it. My Chilean partners are trying to solve the situation with the owner, but we havent receive anything positive so far. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND ITS CREW OF THIEVES!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Spent five days at this great hotel during a business trip in March 2009. Would recommend this friendly and clean hotel. The service is great and the food was very good and kept me coming back. Good atmosphere.

The rooms are very clean and the atmosphere was safe and relaxing. (Wish there was a hot tub, but you can't have everything).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oceanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanic

Address: Avenida Borgono 12925, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceanic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.