We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hispano

Hispano
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hispano to your Saves list
Hispano
Plaza Parroquia 391, Vina del Mar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Santiago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Viña del Mar is a beautiful city, I Really Like it, but this hotel was horrible.

When we did the check in, two receptionists were having a debate about others guest (a couple) with troubles inside the hotel. They didn't took care about us for a while.

Some days before, when I did the reservation, someone told me, the check out is until noon, but in site, and when we were preparing our stuff, we received a phone call, the recepcionist told us, the check out is until 11 AM, if you don't do it you have to pay a middle day. I tried to explain her the situation, but she didn't understand. But when we did the check out at 12, she didn't told us anything and we didn't to pay the middle day.

I shouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

This is an excellent value for money hotel, located centrally within a few steps of the centre of Viña del Mar and the main Plaza Viña for public transport of all kinds (train, taxi, bus & micro & "colectivo").
The Hispano is budget priced, and for that you get a clean, well-run place where everything works (electrics, hot water and so on).
The owner/manager will fix anything that goes wrong immediately and the place is cleaned from top to bottom every day.
There is WiFi throughout, although some rooms have an ethernet connection because the signal is not so strong. Reception is 24 hrs.
Bed and breakfast is the best option and, even the meals are alright: straight forward Chilean home cooking with not a chili in sight. If you like me like a bit of spice, they will bring you same from the kitchen.
Staff are friendly and attentive. I stayed more than two months for some work and the chef never repeated a main dish, which is pretty good going in a budget place. I had half pension, so I visited other places in Viña as well. It is a favoured long-term student accommodation. Although not my interest, every room has cable with dozens of channels in Spanish (of course), French, German and English.

  • Liked — The everything worked as it was supposed to and the place was clean.
  • Disliked — Nothing really. Perhaps the church bells sounding throughout the day (but not at night!).
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed here only one night, in a single and a double room.

The single on the first floor had very musty air, and was not too clean. There was a bus stop right outside the window, and the sound proofing seemed to be bad.

The double room was on the third floor. Cleaner, and with slightly better air than the other one. The shower was not very good (imagine the hard, concentrated spray from a hose), and the bathroom was without heating. The room itself was ok for three stars, with good storage room.

Breakfast consisted of watery orange juice, coffee and two slices of toast with cheese and ham between. No buffet, but by order. Quite ok.

The main draw is the location, only a square and a half from the main plaza, and even closer to the metro (going to Valparaiso).

We paid 18.500 pesos (about 30 usd) for the single, and 23.500 (about 40 usd) pesos for the double.

Look for something else if you have trouble with un-fresh air.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — air in the rooms...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
615 helpful votes 615 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

This is a cute little hotel that fronts a pretty little plaza. The nice thing about it is that there is no major traffic noise, which can be a problem in Vina del Mar. Most of the budget hotels are on busy streets. This is an older place that looks decent for the price. The beds and pillows are comfy enough. In March 2006 it was 15,000 pesos for a single room. They have cable TV, hot water, and it includes breakfast,which they will bring to your room. The staff was very nice. You are only a block away from the main square here, and you can walk to the grocery store and many other shops.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hispano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hispano

Address: Plaza Parroquia 391, Vina del Mar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hispano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hispano Vina Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hispano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.